We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts and wonderful hospitality”
Review of Walled Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walled Garden
Ranked #6 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for a night as we were attending a function in the area. The Walled Garden is a wonderful house, spotlessly clean and our room was such a delight with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The room was quiet, the house tranquil, the town of Shaftesbury charming. Gary and Philip were wonderful hosts, guiding us on what to do and the best places to eat including the wonderful Salt Cellar cafe at the top of Gold Hill. The breakfast was top notch, all fresh and local produce. Cannot recommend highly enough. Go and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Walled Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Shaftesbury is pure delight and in the Walled Garden you will find two very considerate hosts who have created a home they are willing to share with others and who enthusiastically share their knowledge of the locality and suggestions of what to see and where to go. The attention to detail is superb and nothing has been missed even to sourcing local produce for breakfast; the Walled Garden is simply a relaxing and inspiring place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just brilliant... Phil and Gary have designed a lovely BnB experience... everything is luxurious, the building modern and light with a sun terrace, beautiful wild garden and lovely themed rooms... an incredible locally sourced breakfast feast at whatever time suited us... alongside very well-judged help that went above and beyond in its generosity... must visit!!! Thank you guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bali room, but saw the others; all immaculate
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robocopterbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

From the warmth of the AGA to the comfort of the rooms - every detail has been carefully considered to make guests feel as if they were staying over with dear old friends. Our hosts were attentive and sensitive to our every need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KarooPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Walled Garden is everything you'd expect of a boutique bed and breakfast. It's beautifully and tastefully decorated, exceptionally clean and is run by two fabulous hosts who will go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. I was in the Victorian Room which was really very plush. The room had all the facilities I needed. A great shower too!

I actually stayed at the Walled Garden while on business, doing some research in the area. I had to travel to Bournemouth on two of my days there, which was a pleasant and easy drive. I'll certainly be back in the future for a relaxing weekend away. It seemed like there was so much to do in the surrounding area including a number of visitor attractions I've been meaning to go to for years. There's plenty of quaint towns and villages to see too, all with great pubs and restaurants. It's the perfect getaway! I'll certainly be back again!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank OldTheatreLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Walled Garden is a gem among gems. The magnificently designed House by Phil is complemented by Gary's beautifully created gardens, which are have color (American spelling) all year round. The peace, beauty and serenity of the gardens are a respite from a hectic world.
The interior of the Walled Garden House has been beautifully decorated by Gary and Phil in warm inviting colors, and the furniture is designed for comfort. Having under floor heating, plus central heating, the entire house was warm and cozy on cold days, and on warmer days, the large French Doors were open to the spacious garden, where I enjoyed the gentle breezes and the aroma of fragrant flowers. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the modern bath and shower was delightful. The breakfasts were delicious- especially Gary's cheese and chive scones. Shaftesbury is a wonderful starting point to tour the Southwest.

Room Tip: Being on a quiet street in Shaftesbury and close to restaurants and nature walks, it books up early...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very beautifully presented with great hosts and facilities both offered by the hosts but also available in the surrounding town and countryside. I would highly recommend this B&B for a either a restful stay or a center to explore the amazing counties of Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - 2 of the three have en-suite and 1 is located on the top floor with its own...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldertraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walled Garden

Address: 15 Parsons Pool, Shaftesbury SP7 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walled Garden is a recently built private house owned by Gary and Philip with three double bedrooms (two en-suite and one with its own adjoining bathroom) with secure parking. We are in the centre of the old town of Shaftesbury with many varied restaurants in walking distance, and many more within a short drive. We especially welcome gay visitors and have naturist sun bathing on the rooftop terrace which looks over the vale to Glastonbury Tor. We have varied places to sit around the garden and in the house. Free high-speed wifi from most areas in the house. Town centre facilities and shopping in walking distance (High Street 200 yards) and Stourhead and Kingston Lacy and Sherborne and Salisbury within half an hour's drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walled Garden Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing