We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful bed and breakfast”
Review of Walled Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walled Garden
Ranked #6 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Gay and Phil have created a beautiful oasis that feels peaceful and private yet is right in the heart of town. We stayed in the Bali Room and it was serene and beautiful. The breakfast was exceptionally tasty, with everything freshly prepared. We couldn't recommend The Walled Garden more highly. The hosts are what make this place so special--welcoming and knowledgable--they really went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. Shaftesbury is within easy driving distance of many wonderful sights, but it was nice to come home in the evening, park the car, and walk to have dinner or a late night pint in this very picturesque town. Shaftesbury makes a terrific base for exploring because it is so easy to get in and out of by car, and so well located. The garden surrounds the reception rooms downstairs and the views are beautiful. The house is ingeniously designed to maximize views, space and comfort. I can't think of a thing I would change. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Bali room and I'm sure all the rooms are of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

great hosts that gave us so many ideas of places to see that we could have easily extended our Cornwall trip to 2 weeks. Our room was superb,
the bed was really good and the en suite bathroom state of the art. Such an opulent breakfast as here is hard to find. We really liked the local cheese! Book well in advance it is a treat!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A very pleasurable weekend, well worth the money. The Bali room was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B&B. The full English was all locally produced as was the wonderful bread from a local baker. Gary and Phil had a wealth of local knowledge which I found essential when I ventured out. The garden was a joy to walk around and the view from the rooftop was breath-taking. I would not hesitate in recommending this real home from home. Many thanks guys I'll definitely be back, may when it gets colder so that I can see the fire lit.

Room Tip: The Bali room was peaceful from the moment I stepped into it. I slept like a log in the lovely king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Gary and Phil have a lovely and relaxing home that they clearly enjoy sharing with their guests. They go out of their way to provide information for guests making their arrival and stay as relaxing and worry free as possible. The rooms are immaculate and their policy of serving welcoming drinks in their beautiful living area makes it feel more like staying with friends than the usual B&B experience.

We enjoyed our stay, found them to be excellent company and a source of reliable information about local facilities and services. Breakfast was excellent and thoughtfully prepared very much to the guests individual requirements.

No hesitation at all in recommending The Walled Garden for anyone who appreciates thoughtful, comfortable and stylish accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpaul9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a great 1 night stay at the Walled Garden on Sat 3rd Aug.
We were greeted by Gary who showed us up to our room (we stayed in the Victorian Room) and then up to roof terrace which is very secluded and has great views over the surrounding countryside. We then returned downstairs to the lounge area where we were served tea and biscuits. We also completed the form for breakfast. Gary gave us some information regarding places to eat and visit but we had already got these sorted. Nevertheless, this was a nice touch for guests that hadn’t. He did advise that were would be able to walk to the pub (The Half Moon) that we had booked a table at instead of driving which we duly did and it took approx 20mins. Well worth a visit for great traditional pub food.
The situation of the Walled Garden in Shaftesbury means that if you ate in any of the town based restaurants, they were all only 5mins walk - ideal.
Breakfast was served in the dining room and the only way to describe this is ‘a feast’. We had the choice of fruit, cereal, juice, tea or coffee, fresh croissants, toast, jams & marmalade (including their homemade blackcurrant jam in the un-labelled jar) and cooked breakfast. The latter comprising of eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, fried bread, toms & mushrooms! All was lovely and certainly set you up for a day out.
I would certainly stay at the Walled Garden again and have no hesitation to recommend to friends and family. Gary & Philip have a beautiful home which they open up for their guests to use and enjoy.
Note: they do not have Credit Card machine.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room is on the first floor at the front of the house but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni_Kev637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not one complaint. Phil and Gary are the perfect hosts and provide an exceptionally comfortable, first rate experience. The location is a perfect home base with so much to do and see in the area. This is one B&B not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for a night as we were attending a function in the area. The Walled Garden is a wonderful house, spotlessly clean and our room was such a delight with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The room was quiet, the house tranquil, the town of Shaftesbury charming. Gary and Philip were wonderful hosts, guiding us on what to do and the best places to eat including the wonderful Salt Cellar cafe at the top of Gold Hill. The breakfast was top notch, all fresh and local produce. Cannot recommend highly enough. Go and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shaftesbury hotels
2.5 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
144 reviews
0 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walled Garden

Address: 15 Parsons Pool, Shaftesbury SP7 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walled Garden is a recently built private house owned by Gary and Philip with three double bedrooms (two en-suite and one with its own adjoining bathroom) with secure parking. We are in the centre of the old town of Shaftesbury with many varied restaurants in walking distance, and many more within a short drive. We especially welcome gay visitors and have naturist sun bathing on the rooftop terrace which looks over the vale to Glastonbury Tor. We have varied places to sit around the garden and in the house. Free high-speed wifi from most areas in the house. Town centre facilities and shopping in walking distance (High Street 200 yards) and Stourhead and Kingston Lacy and Sherborne and Salisbury within half an hour's drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walled Garden Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing