We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sheer luxury”
Review of Walled Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walled Garden
Ranked #6 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
bakewell, derbys, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“sheer luxury”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A lovely welcome from Gary and Phil to their lovely and immaculate home. The complimentary tea and bisuits was a lovely touch. My room (Victorian) was huge, beautifully decortaed and supremely comfortable. The house and garden are stunning and so well placed for exploring the town. A delicious and very extensive home cooked breakfast completed a memorable short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exegesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

A wonderful birthday weekend stay in this amazing house with two hosts who couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A beautiful room with a lovely breakfast and loads of great tips and advice on where to go in this stunning part of the world. Cannot recommend highly enough, a real privilege to be able to stay here, we will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Great location... Central but quiet in this wonderful town of Shaftesbury.
Outstanding value.
Nothing too much trouble.
You are welcomed warmly into the home of Gary and Phil.
Bedroom and bathroom thoughtfully appointed ... Lots of attention to detail... Lots of sockets for modern gear!
Gary is spearheading the Annual Snowdrop Festival with boundless energy and enthusiasm...with Phil supporting!
Watch this space!
Thanks for a really delightful two days...
Plenty of good dining choices too.
King John pub excellent!
Snow drops at Kingston Lacey nearby AMAZING!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I would highly recommend the Walled Garden as THE place to stay in this area. Philip and Gary have created a lovely ambience at their beautiful home and are great hosts. When you travel a lot it is always lovely to be able to add another place to the list of ones you would like to return to and the Walled Garden is certainly one for that list. We visited in December and I can only imagine how beautiful the garden must look in full bloom later in the year.There is even a local Snowdrop Festival which was a new one for me! Try the Grovesnor Arms a stroll away for great food and atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanLewisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Gay and Phil have created a beautiful oasis that feels peaceful and private yet is right in the heart of town. We stayed in the Bali Room and it was serene and beautiful. The breakfast was exceptionally tasty, with everything freshly prepared. We couldn't recommend The Walled Garden more highly. The hosts are what make this place so special--welcoming and knowledgable--they really went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. Shaftesbury is within easy driving distance of many wonderful sights, but it was nice to come home in the evening, park the car, and walk to have dinner or a late night pint in this very picturesque town. Shaftesbury makes a terrific base for exploring because it is so easy to get in and out of by car, and so well located. The garden surrounds the reception rooms downstairs and the views are beautiful. The house is ingeniously designed to maximize views, space and comfort. I can't think of a thing I would change. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Bali room and I'm sure all the rooms are of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosbach, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

great hosts that gave us so many ideas of places to see that we could have easily extended our Cornwall trip to 2 weeks. Our room was superb,
the bed was really good and the en suite bathroom state of the art. Such an opulent breakfast as here is hard to find. We really liked the local cheese! Book well in advance it is a treat!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A very pleasurable weekend, well worth the money. The Bali room was so comfortable I didn't want to leave. Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B&B. The full English was all locally produced as was the wonderful bread from a local baker. Gary and Phil had a wealth of local knowledge which I found essential when I ventured out. The garden was a joy to walk around and the view from the rooftop was breath-taking. I would not hesitate in recommending this real home from home. Many thanks guys I'll definitely be back, may when it gets colder so that I can see the fire lit.

Room Tip: The Bali room was peaceful from the moment I stepped into it. I slept like a log in the lovely king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walled Garden

Property: Walled Garden
Address: 15 Parsons Pool, Shaftesbury SP7 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walled Garden is a recently built private house owned by Gary and Philip with three double bedrooms (two en-suite and one with its own adjoining bathroom) with secure parking. We are in the centre of the old town of Shaftesbury with many varied restaurants in walking distance, and many more within a short drive. We especially welcome gay visitors and have naturist sun bathing on the rooftop terrace which looks over the vale to Glastonbury Tor. We have varied places to sit around the garden and in the house. Free high-speed wifi from most areas in the house. Town centre facilities and shopping in walking distance (High Street 200 yards) and Stourhead and Kingston Lacy and Sherborne and Salisbury within half an hour's drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walled Garden Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing