We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B and service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chalet Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Chalet twice during 2012 and we were delighted with the experience on both occasions. The house itself is immaculate and Anne and Doug are marvellous hosts. There are various pubs and restaurants within walking distance and Shaftesbury itself is picturesque.

Highly recommended. We'll certainly return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

An excellent B&B, better quality and service than recently paid at large Hotel chain which charged 3 times the price! The room was fantastic, lots of room and very clean. Fantastic breakfast and extremely kind hosts who offered to drop us back to our car in the morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A friend and I booked to stay at The Chalet for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the area. We arrived very late on Friday night, but Anne and Doug could not have been kinder about our late arrival, and were quick to point us in the direction of a charming pub within walking distance so we could enjoy a well-earned drink after a long drive down from London.

I stayed in the Lavender Room. Pretty and spotlessly clean. Very comfy bed, pristine bathroom with power shower - lovely touch that full-size bottles of various things like shampoo and shower gel were included. Room included things like TV with satellite channels, tea & coffee (with fresh milk provided in the fridge in the communal guest area just outside the room), and a hairdryer.

Anne provided a wonderful breakfast for us on both mornings we were there.

The Chalet B&B is better than many hotels I've stayed at in the UK. Cannot recommend more highly. Easy to find, walking distance into Shaftesbury. Very reasonable rates. And the most helpful and charming owners I've come across.

Thank you Anne & Doug for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

If you want the best , stay here. Everything about The Chalet is perfect.The best b&b we`ve ever stayed in .Would not hesitate to recomend to anyone.Even the fussiest person would not find fault here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We hired all 3 rooms for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Anne and Doug are not only welcoming, but they were also very helpful by lending us all their travel guides and they deliver a service that we have never seen in a B&B! Every detail has been carefully thought of in each of the warm and cosy rooms...and the home made jams, fresh eggs from the hens and a fabulous choice of breakfasts all added to our delight :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for one night on our way to board a cruise ship in Southampton and we were delighted with the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the accommodation. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious and Ann and Doug were the perfect hosts. Would not hesitate to recommend the Chalet to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Sahaftesbury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here en route to the Olympic sailing event at Weymouth on 4th August as all the B&Bs nearer to Weymouth were fully booked (and much more expensive!). What a good decision! Right from the phone call to book up Anne was helpful and welcoming, advising me on how long it would take us to reach Weymouth the next day and offering to do breakfast early for us at 7am on the Sunday. My teenage daughters had the burgundy room and we had the gold room - both very comfortable and roomy and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was one of the best we've had - I really liked the fresh fruit and yoghurt - not often provided at a B&B. It is excellent value for money and very close to Shaftesbury's historic town centre.
On Anne's recommendation we went to the Mitre Inn for dinner and watched Francesca Ennis win the Heptathlon in the back bar and then left early Sunday for the sailing to see Ben Ainslie win his 4th gold in the sailing - perfect all round. Anne even organised sunshine for the sailing event for us!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Shaftesbury
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Chalet Christys Lane, Shaftesbury SP7 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing