We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect evening out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fleur de Lys

La Fleur de Lys
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$44
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We established the restaurant here in Shaftesbury over 20 years ago & have built up an enviable reputation for fine cuisine using some of the best quality ingredients to be found both locally & from afar, all expertly prepared & cooked to order by David & Marc. We invite you to come & enjoy a delicious Lunch or Dinner. Why don't you look at the current menus and wine list and choose what you will eat today.All dishes are cooked fresh to order by David & Marc, we cater for all tastes and diets but should you not find something you like from our menus, then please do ring to discuss your requirements. We will do our best to accommodate you. We also cater for small parties or groups and have weddings facilities for up to 40 Persons.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect evening out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had the most delicious 3 course meal tonight. Crab mouse to start, absolutely gorgeous! Venison for main, which was well cooked and served in a lovely sauce. Dessert was chocolate beignets, served with lime ice cream - absolutely heavenly! Polite and friendly staff, plus we had the bonus of a talented saxophonist playing throughout the meal. We have already booked to return for our anniversary! Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahware777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear sarahware777

Mary & I thank you for taking the time to review your evening with us, we really appreciate all guests taking the time to write a review. It is especially pleasing for us & our staff to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to us & we look forward to seeing you both on many other occasions in the future, best wishes for the year ahead.

Kindest Regards

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    19
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Most excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Fantastic meal, great wine, wonderful building and setting. We've stayed here before and enjoyed it, this time we couldn't get a room so we stayed elsewhere but ate as a family here. The meal was really excellent and can't be faulted. Not cheap but it's first-class dining. We all enjoyed it and will return again on our next trip. Chicken salad starters were excellent; smoked salmon excellent; main courses were all terrific - fish/mixed seafood; steaks; all really good, well proportioned dishes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaymanisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear kaymanisle
Many thanks for taking the time to review your evening with us Mary & I really appreciate all feed back so we are especially grateful for your kind words & high praise. Many Thanks & we look forward to you staying & eating with us again when next visiting.

Kindest Regards & Best Wishes

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An Oasis of Fine Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

As usual, we had an excellent time. Good food and excellent service. We are regulars and have never been disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Audrey B

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our Hotel. Mary & I very much appreciate the time taken by all guests in giving us their feed back. We are even more appreciative to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Shaftesbury. Meanwhile we wish well for the year ahead.

Kindest Regards
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed last weekend whilst in Shaftesbury on business.
Used room 6. Lovely room, well equipped and tastefully set out.
Alas, all I ate was a superb full English breakfast, I was unable to eat in the restaurant due to my commitments, but it looked lovely.
Very pleasant and helpful management.
Cannot better it for the price.
Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jeremyfish

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us & it is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed it.

Look forward to seeing you again when visiting these parts.

All the best for the year ahead

Kindest Regards
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

For a very special evening this is hard to beat. The evening begins with drinks in the bar and you are then looked after for the evening. Sometimes there is even a classical guitarist to add atmosphere. The food is of a very high standard and the owner/ chef usually visits your table. it is not cheap but well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Chris W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to us we really appreciate all reviews & comments good or bad, so it was especially pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us see you again soon

Kindest Regards

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fleur de Lys also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing