We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Meal to Remember”
Review of La Fleur de Lys

La Fleur de Lys
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$43
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We established the restaurant here in Shaftesbury over 20 years ago & have built up an enviable reputation for fine cuisine using some of the best quality ingredients to be found both locally & from afar, all expertly prepared & cooked to order by David & Marc. We invite you to come & enjoy a delicious Lunch or Dinner. Why don't you look at the current menus and wine list and choose what you will eat today.All dishes are cooked fresh to order by David & Marc, we cater for all tastes and diets but should you not find something you like from our menus, then please do ring to discuss your requirements. We will do our best to accommodate you. We also cater for small parties or groups and have weddings facilities for up to 40 Persons.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal to Remember”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal shared with family to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary From the fantastic pre dinner ambience in the bar to the superb three courses we all enjoyed and lovely wines This was a meal to remember

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ecrouch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ecrouch9

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to us recently Mary & I really appreciate our guests feedback, It was especially pleasing to hear how much you you enjoyed your anniversary meal with us & we look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Meanwhile Kindest Regards & Best Wishes to you both

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    20
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second visit did not disappoint!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having eaten here once before I was slightly worried that a return visit might be disappointing as expectation levels were higher. However, these concerns were unfounded.

We went back for my birthday and had a lovely evening. It started with aperitifs in the courtyard, where we chose our meal. Service through out was attentive, but not intrusive, and the food as great as I remembered. The Maître d'hôte was most helpful, especially with wine suggestions to go with our choice of chocolate based puddings!

As previous reviewers have said this is not the cheapest place to eat in Shaftesbury, but is well worth it for a special meal out so make sure you book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalviaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear SalviaPrincess

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor & was so nice to see you again. Thank you for your very appreciate words & we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kindest Regards & Best Wishes
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate at the Fleur de Lys last week and had a fantastic meal. On arrival we were shown into a lovely bar area where we had a drink and chose from the menu. The restaurant is lovely, the food superb. The only downside is we wished we had booked to stay there instead of the hotel in Shaftesbury. This restaurant is no 1 on tripadvisor in Shaftesbury and it's easy to see why. We can highly recommend a meal here, it's advisable to book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank welshbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear welshbird22

Many thanks for your recent visit to La Fleur de lys & subsequent review, Mary & I really appreciate all guests taking the time to share their experiences with others. It is especially pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to us & your very kind words, we both look forward to seeing you again & as you say perhaps to stay with us next time you are visiting Shaftesbury. Many thanks & best wishes to you for the future.
Look forward to meeting you again some day

Best Wishes
David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A National Treasure”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Determined to return to this wonderful ‘restaurant with rooms’, and this time stay the night, I found myself at La Fleur de Lye, beautifully located in Shaftsbury, Dorset. Welcomed by the proprietors and shown to a most delightful first floor room, I had time to walk the lovely streets of Shaftsbury, view what remained of the biggest nunnery in England until the Reformation and enjoy a drink or two in the pub before returning to shower and change for dinner. After enjoying a drink in the restaurants bar, I was by this time indeed very hungry, and especially so after viewing the menu.

The meal consisted of roasted Brill with scallops and prawns, the most succulent beef I have ever tasted, accompanied by gloriously prepared and served vegetables and a rare bottle of Chateau la Tour, was as memorable as the finest meal I have ever tasted; and all of this followed by the freshest of raspberries with clotted cream.

I went to my bed smiling and woke the next morning still smiling, only to be greeted by both the chef proprietor and his dear wife and offered a breakfast prepared, cooked and served as the meal the night before.

All in all I this Restaurant with Rooms offers food of exceptional quality and may one day be recognized as one of the leading eateries in England’s West.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Michael S

Many thanks for your very kind words we trust you had a very pleasant & safe Journey back to Australia & look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kindest Regards

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect evening out!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had the most delicious 3 course meal tonight. Crab mouse to start, absolutely gorgeous! Venison for main, which was well cooked and served in a lovely sauce. Dessert was chocolate beignets, served with lime ice cream - absolutely heavenly! Polite and friendly staff, plus we had the bonus of a talented saxophonist playing throughout the meal. We have already booked to return for our anniversary! Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahware777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgriffinshepherd, Owner at La Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear sarahware777

Mary & I thank you for taking the time to review your evening with us, we really appreciate all guests taking the time to write a review. It is especially pleasing for us & our staff to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to us & we look forward to seeing you both on many other occasions in the future, best wishes for the year ahead.

Kindest Regards

David & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fleur de Lys also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing