We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in a stunning town”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
September Cottage September Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
September Cottage
September Cottage
Bedroom 1
Conservatory
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Garden in spring
The Garden
The Garden
Gold Hill, Shaftesbury
View from The Mitre in Shaftesbury High Street, 10 minute walk from September Cottage
Single Aspect Bedroom
Single Aspect Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DAM125
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a stunning town”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well equipped super-comfortable cottage in a town full of interest, history and beauty. Everything we could have wanted for our short stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning Cottage”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at September Cottage last year and were so impressed, we stayed again. Amazingly, Mags has improved the cottage further. It's been decorated to an even higher standard, niggly maintenance issues have been sorted out and little touches like the welcome basket go above and beyond what you expect.
As I said last year, the cottage is cosy and yet really spacious for 4 adults and accompanying children. The interior design is stunning and looks like it's come out of an issue of country living. The garden is beautiful and the perfect spot for breakfast or coffee if the sun is shining.
The cottage is easy walking distance to the high street and Gold Hill and you can nearly always find parking directly outside the house.
Thanks for having us stay again, Mags.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grahamctu...
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
“September Cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I and our grown up daughter had a great stay here. Wonderful cottage, nicely done out, very comfortable and very helpful contact with owner. Our stay was relaxed and chilled. Handy for Gold Hill. A full five star venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful, well equiped cottage a stone's throw from Gold Hill”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent three very comfortable nights in September cottage with 4 adults and a child.
It has been recently refurbished/decorated and is furnished in fantastic taste.
2 large double bedrooms, beautifully decorated and equipped with all you could need. Comfy beds and linen.
Perfectly adequate child's room with lovely comfy bed linen. Lots of ups and downs on the landing and a very open stairwell so take a stair gate if you have a little one.
Clean and recently refurbished bathroom with good shower, towels and small amount of toiletries.
Fairly large kitchen with lots of storage space and all necessary crockery and utensils.
Large dining room with seating for lots of people. Lots of space in here to store luggage etc.
A cosy sitting room with plenty of seating and a bright conservatory with even more seating.
A stunning cottage garden.
We managed to find parking each evening on the road outside the cottage. (slightly to the right as you look out from the house)
Shaftesbury is a lovely little village with lots to see and do. The cottage is VERY close to the centre of town and Gold Hill.
I highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, light and decor.
Liked least: I think the house could be damp in winter.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. We very much appreciate you taking the time and trouble to let us know you enjoyed your stay. It makes it all worth while! I will now make sure we have a stair gate available - a great idea! Thanks again, Mags
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali R
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, beautifully decorated.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage is exactly as described. Perfect for adults to use as a base for travelling the area and to chill out in. The village has plenty to see and lots of beautiful old buildings and areas of interest. The Gold Hill and the Abbey are just a couple of recommendations!
Mags was a great help, nothing was too much trouble! There was a welcome gift and the cottage had a very much appreciated stock of essentials, so we didn't have to run straight to the shops.
The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are light and airy. Everything very well thought out and clean. Books and DVDs are also there for use.
We would definitely return another time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and conservatory
Liked least: No tumble drier
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glesueur2...
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cosy weekend for family time”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at September cottage with my two teenage children for 3 nights away in the beautiful Dorset hilltop town of Shaftesbury. The cottage is exactly as advertised if not better, so cosy like a real home from home. Lovely and light with very comfortable and tasteful furnishings and a gorgeous little cottage garden. Owners are more than helpful and recommended 2 lovely pubs in the area, there is also a fantastic curry house down the road perfect for a take away if you need a night off cooking. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;