We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland House

Cumberland House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland House
Ranked #6 of 23 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

The history of Cumberland House goes back many centuries, but it has been thoughtfully transformed into a spacious, clean and comfortable place to stay, with just a couple of oddities.

One cannot park a car in front of Cumberland House, even to unload, because the pavement is several feet higher than the road. The parking area is behind the house and is accessed along a narrow lane. From the parking area one walks down through the back garden to the back door, but the path through the back garden includes three sets of stone steps and so I do not think this accommodation would be suitable for disabled or unsteady people.

I had the "Double Bedroom with Private Shower Room", which means that the shower room is separate from the bedroom, a few yards along the landing. The bedroom had a large firm-but-comfortable double bed with plenty of space around it. The high ceiling and light-yellow painted walls gave the room an airy feel. The only oddity in the bedroom was the doorway, which had a frame that was not quite rectangular and a shed-style door with a lifting latch. The house has a good heating system, and even during a snowy week in January there was plenty of warmth available.

The bedroom overlooks the "Greenhill" section of the A30 road through Sherborne and so traffic noise is inevitable, but the secondary glazing helps to muffle the traffic noise.

Along the landing I encountered another oddity: a surprisingly-low beam just before I reached the shower room. The shower room contained a toilet, wash-basin and shower-cubicle and was very clean. Plenty of towels were provided, along with some toiletries.

Sandie, the owner, is a very friendly well-spoken lady who is easy to chat to. I would be happy to stay at Cumberland House again next time I need accommodation in Sherborne.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheddargeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Sandie is a fantastic host - she couldn't have been more welcoming or accomodating and she makes a great breakfast (including wonderful home made jam).

The rooms at Cumberland House are comfortable and nicely furnished. This does have the nice feeling of staying in a home as opposed to a characterless hotel!

We really enjoyed our two nights in Sherborne and would stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazza_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

It was a return visit to the Cumberland house as we had such a good time last year there.
The breakfasts were just as good as previously.The bed was really comfortable in there was minimal noise from outside considering its location on Greenhill. We were there for the Jubilee celebrations weekend and the shops were bedecked with red white and blue bunting everywhere! Its such a pleasent village to visit.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as good, but one has the en suiteand the other the bathroom is just a few ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at Cumberland house in June 2011 and Sandi was the best of the best she could not do enough for us even down to multiple choices of jams for breakfast. the rooms were very comfortable one being en suite and the other having a private bathroom just across the landing The town of Sherbourne is a place worth visiting in it self with Cumberland house a worthy place to stay in for a relaxing stress free time .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here with my partner and his parents. Sandi could not do enough for us – not only was she warm and helpful, but also entertaining and charming. The rooms were beautiful; the breakfast was delicious; our entire stay was unforgettable.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, of which one is en suite. That would obviously be the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereGoesDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Sandie is a warm friendly host and the location in the centre of town is great. The terrace house is very old and beautifully clean and tastefully decorated. The house is very compact so the bedrooms are small and there is no separate lounge for guests. The breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#7 of 23 in Sherborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House

Property: Cumberland House
Address: Cumberland House Greenhill, Sherborne DT9 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumberland House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing