We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and friendly”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Alders Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A very comfortable B&B in a beautiful house in a lovely Dorset village run by very friendly owners. Excellent attention to detail including providing fresh milk instead of the usual UHT!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51pendomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

the village of sandford orcas is lovely but we found the accommodation a bit minimalist. There was no butter - only some strange vegetable product - at breakfast. The coffee was poor and the towels were tiny. We would not go back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morbihan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Our welcome to the Alders was warm and friendly. Room was spacious and well equiped, en-suite facility very good, very hot! Location ideal and extremely calm, be careful on the village roads, as these are quite narrow! Although no evening meals, we were advised that the village Public House served excellent meals, as was the case. A wonderful evening was spent there.
Breakfast on the morning was the best, copious and unhurried. Set us up for the day!
Thank you John et Sue - belatedly!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oiseaulibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed here for one night for a wedding in the area. Sue sent accurate directions, kindly allowed us to arrive early. Excellent breakfast with local jams etc. Both John and Sue were very friendly and I would certainly recommend their b&b very highly. Extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDRELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The Alders Bed & Breakfast in Sanford Orcas is just slightly north of Sherborne. It is very convenient to Sherborne, even though it may not seem so at first glance. We stayed there for 4 nights in September 2008 for the Ironman UK. The hosts - Sue & John Ferdinando - were so hospitable and kind. The breakfasts are wonderful and made to order.

The price is one of the most reasonable you will find during your travels.

Rooms are well appointed with private baths. I can highly recommend the The Alders if a Bed & Breakfast is in your travel plans. We were so happy to have chosen this B
&B!!

Helpful?
Thank laj_texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
4.2 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.7 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Chetnole Inn
The Chetnole Inn
#1 of 2 in Chetnole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alders Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alders Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Alders Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sandford Orcas, Sherborne DT9 4SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alders Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Alders Bed & Breakfast Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing