We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in the beautiful,picturesque town of Sherbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed in the Britannia for a relaxing country weekend break.We were extremely happy with the accommodation with the room being spacious and clean.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The Britannia is in the centre of the lovely picturesque town of historic Sherbourne,with the cathedral being virtually next door.The added bonus was the Thai restaurant attached to the pub.The food was excellent,value for money and not surprisingly extremely popular.After dinner it was nice to relax in front of the fire in the bar with a few drinks.The bed was extremely comfortably and felt well rested after a good nights sleep.In the morning we ventured up to the historic castle,which was only a 20 minute sunday stroll away.Overall I thought the Britannia was excellent value for money,will stay there again and will recommend to others .

Room Tip: The family room as it was big,clean,had on suite bathroom,large flat screen tv and tea and coffee f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominic c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November for a wedding. Rooms recently refurbished so good quality. Comfy beds, cosy rooms. Well appointed - good range hot and cold drinks in the room; quality toiletries. Fluffy towels and good shower.
Bonus: central location. Plus the Inn has a Thai restuarant: the best Thai food we've had this year.
And the breakfast: black pudding, vine tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs,crisp bacon, meaty sausages .....yum yum!!

Room Tip: If you want to eat in house on Saturday .... book ahead as this is a very popular restaurant in Sher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabithacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Britannia has always been a good value place to drink and eat, but the new landlord has tried hard and it is good news he has now opened a new Thai restaurant in the old public bar.
Both eat in and take away the food is very authentic and also good value for money. This is one to try. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here with some friends and had a great time. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you need. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome. Sherborne itself is a beautiful town and the Britannia Inn is in a very good location. Make sure you book for the Thai restaurant as the food is fantastic and the restaurant busy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Had the please of staying here last Saturday night and was very pleased. Room was a good size, with large TV, coffee and tea facilities and a very comfortable bed. Downstairs the pub served well kept real ales, the thai food was excellent and the landlord very friendly. Make sure you book in advance for the thai as it was fully booked on the night we stayed, but thankfully the landlord did manage to squeeze us in. Sherborne has a wonderful must-see 10th century abbey, and a lot of history, and the Britannia is just 2 minutes away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed a couple of nights having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. The new landlord has been there for 12 weeks and is dragging the inn into shape and trying to make the restaurant business work too. We ate there in the Thai restaurant but were in the back room, which is the inn's breakfast room, as the main room was full. The Thai food was good but the rest of the place needs a refurb, which it is currently undergoing so it would be unfair to criticise further. The landlord is a nice chap and seems to know the business so I think the place will improve over the quieter months and be properly sorted by next spring. Comfortable room but needs some work on the decor, which as I say has started in the bars and is moving though the building. Very good breakfast with morning papers and a nice touch with complimentary biscuits, drinks chocolate in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What a fantastic place to spend a few days in a beautiful location situated in the centre of town, only 5 minute walk from the railway station. The staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help and advise. The room was clean and comfortable and had all amenities one could ask for, including a large TV with freeview channels. The Inn has a large bar area and excellent real ale, in the adjacent room is a Thai restaurant. The Thai green curry was exquisite, portions were generous and the flavours were divine. Always a good idea to book, particularly for busy times as this is a small restaurant.

I would definitely recommend this Inn and look forward to returning with the family.

Thank you Andy

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaylorMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
0.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
693 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#9 of 24 in Sherborne
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn Hotel

Address: | Westbury, Sherborne DT9 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Inn Hotel is an 18th century building that was originally a school house for girls which opened in 1743 and was funded by the then Lord Digby. A character structure, this is located all but a stones throw from Sherborne Abbey and only a five minute walk from the train station.There are other local attractions found in this historic town such as Sherborne House, the home of Lord Digby, Sherborne Castle, former home of Sir Walter Raleigh as well as many which are within an hours journey such as Shaftesbury, the Cerne Abbas Giant, Dorchester and Shepton Mallet. Wincanton Racecourse is just half an hour away and we can arrange transport for you should you wish to make a day of it and spend your winnings on a celebratory drink or two!We offer a choice of rooms, double, family, twin and single and provide an extensive breakfast menu to set you up for the day ahead. After your day you can relax with a drink from our choice of award winning real ales, fine wines, Brandy and Whisky. We also have our own restaurant The Dining Room,which serves modern British cuisine seven days a week. Free wireless internet access and all rooms have freeview TV's plus tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Britannia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing