We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”
Review of The Three Wishes

The Three Wishes
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Three Wishes sits in the heart of historic Sherborne offering a relaxed environment in which to enjoy quality, local produce including fresh fish from The Torbay Fish Company, meats and cheeses from Dorset and award-winning beers from Weymouth.
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've been here lots of times but today the service was dreadful. Slow, grumpy and not what I expect. Food however was fine but won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank jspring51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Three Wishes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback regarding your recent visit to the Three Wishes. I am so sorry that the service you received was so poor. It is certainly not the service that we should be offering and is something that I will look into with the team there who are normally praised for their friendliness and the quality of the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I live in Sherborne & have been to this 'bistro cafe' a couple of times since it changed from being a traditional tea room. First visit was with my kids. Service was appalling, so slow and when food did arrive no apology, and food was poor and not good value for money. Second time I went I was 'taken with a friend. I had some kind of grilled fish. Again service was slow, waitress dippy and to top it off within 20 minutes of eating I had to dash to the loo- Diarrhoea- enough said! NOT good, I now avoid. Instead try one of the other cafes in town. My favourite is Cafe Baglione in Swan Yard, where you can always be sure of good food, great service and a friendly greeting, but Cafe Fontana is really good too, but a bit cramped.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ninty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Three Wishes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

I am so sorry to hear about the disappointing visits you have had at the Three Wishes but am perplexed that, having visited in December 2010, you have waited until now to write your review and in the meantime have made no contact with us. It would be most unusual to be taken ill within 20 minutes of having eaten something. Certainly our research would suggest that any reaction occurs at a minimum 1 hour after after eating the food. Perhaps you were ill as a result of food you ate earlier in the day.
At very busy times service can be a little slow. As we cook all food from fresh it can take longer than we would like. In order to address this we have just changed our menu offering slightly less items in the hope that the food is served more quickly. Sadly with your visit having occured such a long time ago I am unable to comment on the dippy waitress who may have subsequently left us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The menue is wide-ranging and tempting. It's not cutting edge cooking, but that's not what it professes to offer. What is does do, and very well indeed, is offer very well cooked and presented food using good quality local ingredients with charming, helpful service in comfortable surroundings. It is clearly popular for lunch, and deservedly so. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quixical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Sherborne is a sweet village which pretends to be a town. It may be classed as a town but has a village feel with one main high street and a small centre. Sherborne residents seem to either be teens at the two schools Sherborne Boys or Girls or a slightly older resident. It is not a dynamic place, but is adorably sweet without being too twee. The high street combines funky shops like Fat Face with a huge selection of boutique chocolate shops 'The Chocolate Muskateer' being a classic, tea shops, charity shops and gift shops. The Three Wishes is a lovely tea shop but, and it is the only downside, it is not a well kept secret or hidden gem! Everyone knows about it and hence it is nearly always packed. Getting a table at weekends - especially when there is anything happening at either of the two Sherborne schools - is difficult. However, if you are one of the lucky ones, sip your tea slowly, enjoy your home cooked food and savor the scones - you might not be so lucky next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

On our regular trips to Sherborne morning coffee or lunch at the Three Wishes is an integral part of the day. Friendly staff, attractive surroundings and excellent food all add to the enjoyment of the day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SimonP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Wishes also viewed

Sherborne, Dorset
Sherborne, Dorset
 
Sherborne, Dorset
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to The Three Wishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing