We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable apartment in a lovely town”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate L
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in a lovely town”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Glover's Cottage was a perfect spot for us. The apartment is compact but felt surprisingly roomy, and it was very thoughtfully equipped with everything we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bedroom and bath are up 5 stairs from the entry landing, while the living room and kitchen are 6 stairs down, and also open to a patio. The kitchen is tiny--I would not want to cook a large meal there--but it is ingeniously arranged to include everything one needs, and it worked very well for our breakfasts and evening snacks.

As others have mentioned, the apartment opens onto a public pay-and-display parking lot, and you do need to pay for parking. However, parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am and we were out most of the day, so the cost was not great, and the apartment was so reasonably priced that we did not mind.

The one negative is that the Wi-fi connection is poor. We were only able to connect out on the patio or right near the back door.

Sherborne Abbey is a stunning building, and we enjoyed the town, which has great shops and bakeries. We also appreciated the beauty of the immediate area, and the easy access to the places we wanted to visit during our week, including Glastonbury and Wells, Montacute and Barrington Court, the Jurassic Coast, Salisbury and Stonehenge. The apartment is a few steps away from a fine Waitrose supermarket and several good restaurants and pubs.

The owners live right next door and were available to help if needed, and they were very friendly and helpful, from beginning to end!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
REA_11
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Sherborne is beautiful and this is an ideal cottage (or is it the Tardis?) to walk into the town or drive to the countryside. Super start-up provisions. We'd have happily stayed longer than a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. So compact.
Liked least: Dusty.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 10 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Comfort & Location
Liked least: Kitchen too small
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing