We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a tenner!”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Half Moon Inn
Ranked #42 of 52 Restaurants in Sherborne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 23rd April 2011 As chain pubs go it was very good and not to be confused with the fantastic Half Moon Inn at Horsington a few miles away. The food was freshly cooked with a noticeable lack of frozen veg. Service was good, tables clean and prices fair. Menu although ‘corporate’ had a few interesting ideas and he specials were appealing. Parking is a little unusual; a pay and display car park then pub customers get a refund proportionate to spend, so if eating likely a full refund as we did, but you need change before going there. Dinner for 2 with drinks £27.40.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
449 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Not bad for a tenner!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There seem to be two types of Marston’s pubs, those that offer two main courses for the price of one across their main menu and those that offer two main courses for £10 from a more limited selection. The Half Moon is one of the latter.

Looking for a quick lunch in Sherborne, we found the Half Moon convenient to the High Street. It is quite large inside, with plenty of tables. The decor has probably seen better days, but it seemed to be clean and tidy.

As for the food, we went for the ham, eggs and chips, and the lasagne. The ham was thick and obviously hand carved, the eggs were nice and runny and the chips were crunchy on the outside. There was also a small portion of caramelised red onion chutney to go with it. My wife said that her lasagne, which came with garlic bread and a small portion of salad, was also very nice. Topped off with one of the selection of real ales available and, all in all, a pretty decent lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TauntonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    31
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Standards lowered”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

After receiving loads of advertising emails decided to try the new menu of my local pub ( almost next door !).... Off to a bad start as on only the second day of the new menu my first choice was not available, second choice 8oz sirloin, was strangely cooked, one edge was crispy the rest was normally cooked ? Waitress insisted on calling everyone my love.... She is not ' my love' nor am I hers ! Partners beef and Ale pie had a lovely lump of gristle complete with vein going through it ( certainly NOT prime beef !) no sauces or ketchups offered and meal was certainly of a much much lower quality than has previously been offered by the establishment. Upon returning to the bar to order dessert, I asked to order dessert and the landlord replied NO, not very encouraging !! The landlord suggested a flavour of ice cream, 5 minutes later the waitress came out to say that flavour was not available, does the landlord not know what is available on the menu in his own pub / restraunt ...the other dessert of apple crumble was obviously a microwaved portion, the crumble had the consistency of wallpaper paste and no crunch at all. Quite frankly the new menu appears to have lowered the standards of food offered by 100% and appears to have made the staff unhelpful, so I certainly will not be using again until standards return ( if ever !!)

Helpful?
Thank Srjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent lunchtime meal”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Passing through Sherborne, we decided to have lunch at The Half Moon. They had a lunchtime specials menu - 2 meals for £10.00, with quite a wide variety of choices. We decided on steak and chips. We agreed it was the best steak we can remember having, at any restaurant, The drinks were well priced, (compared to some other pubs and restaurants who charge more than 3 times the price for meals and very pricey drinks). We’ll certainly go back to The Half Moon very soon! The waitresses and bar staff were friendly and efficient, and the tables were cleared promptly. A nice atmosphere and in a lovely town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good selection of food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

A group of us met here for a meal, it is a typical chain pub, in need of some decoration. Good menu, and the specials menu was great, and very reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GillB272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“food food - great staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we are here a number of lunchtimes and evenings and were always looked after well by the staff
Had ham doorsteps most lunchtimes - chunk of meat
beer is a bit pricier than Digby Tap but they do have real ale on and it changes regularly
for a chain, it is very good value
Note - it is time the lock on the gents' toilet was fixed - we do expect one

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank accordionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Inn also viewed

 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing