We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even finish our drinks”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Half Moon Inn
Ranked #42 of 53 Restaurants in Sherborne
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: 23rd April 2011 As chain pubs go it was very good and not to be confused with the fantastic Half Moon Inn at Horsington a few miles away. The food was freshly cooked with a noticeable lack of frozen veg. Service was good, tables clean and prices fair. Menu although ‘corporate’ had a few interesting ideas and he specials were appealing. Parking is a little unusual; a pay and display car park then pub customers get a refund proportionate to spend, so if eating likely a full refund as we did, but you need change before going there. Dinner for 2 with drinks £27.40.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't even finish our drinks”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The service wasn't rude, but was t I early welcoming either. The bar had what appeared to be locals at it, who just made us both feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. We sat out of the way but didn't even finish our drinks before leaving.

Helpful?
Thank Charlieee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    31
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sherborne Festival & the Half Moon”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently attended a concert during the Sherborne Festival and finished up in the Half Moon afterwards for a late supper. There were two reasons for this, first my friends were staying there, second despite the fact there was Festival on it was the only place open. Don't go to Sherborne if you want to eat later than 8pm! The first one of the company was refused a drink because he has the god fortune to look young despite being a guest in the hotel. The food. The service was good and the staff friendly. (Despite refuse drinks to my friend.) The menu was standard pub fare as was the standard of the food. It was ok but that was all I had British beef short ribs. On the menu it said they come in a creamy peppercorn sauce. I got a rather cloying gravy from a packet. Overall I have been in worse places. Would I return? Probably not. But top marks for actually being open after 8.30. Service 7.5/10 Food 5/10.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrlibraryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a hot lunch, really enjoyed my burger and chips, my partner had fish and really enjoyed her meal as well, standards have definitely improved since my last visit, a good meal all round

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Srjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“To quick to refund”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

As normal for a Marstons pub,micro city,
Food was sort ok,staff work hard with poor ethics,
The wife wanted a side salad with-her streak ,all good,£2
The salad was a total insult to to price,two halfs of a plum tomato ,half a slice of cucumber , and a few leafs which would fit in the palm of a baby's hand !
On the side I ordered 3 sausages for to £2
Well I kid you not ! It said grilled,under statement , 1 quarter was grilled the rest cold and raw,
We did complain and had a refund no questions ASKED, REALLY ,!
Just to easy to produce poor quality!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasonRCrewkerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a meal at the Half Moon Inn in Sherborne and the food was excellent, very resonably priced, great choice and a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Inn also viewed

 
Sherborne, Dorset
 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing