We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed just one night, very friendly staff in a great setting. Clean and comfortable room. Delicious breakfast. Due to my Motorbike breaking breaking down, i arrived very late and they left a Bucket of cold beers in the drawing room for me - superb! Hopefully, will make it back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapnPugwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    162
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
431
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Last week I took a group of 20 architectural and garden historians to Dorset to visit properties there. We stayed at the Eastbury and for the first time since starting these trips 10 years ago I received no complaints, only praise. The food was excellent, tasty and varied, with something for everyone; the service was efficient and most pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were well appointed with home-made biscuits, a good choice of teas, still and sparkling water and free wifi. As it is in the atrractive town, my group could go for a walk in the morning or evening to look at more buildings. If we visit Dorset again we will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundtravellerLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at The Eastbury Hotel which was charming with very friendly staff. The food is very good. The first room we were in was Cowslip which was very large and well appointed with a bath in the bedroom and 2 steps down to the ensuite bathroom. This had a good power shower. The bed was king size and very comfortable and unusually for a hotel, the lighting was excellent. Fluffy towels. The street is very quiet as most traffic turns off before the hotel and there is a large car park behind the hotel. Pretty garden and lovely conservatory to eat in. The bar is a bit dark. Sitting room absolutely beautiful. Free internet. Only problem is the very noisy kitchen extractor fan so beware the new annexe. The owner says he will try and sort the problem out. It is ideally situated for walking around Sherbone which is a delightful town. The standard rooms are well-equipped but quite small as are the ensuite bathrooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are away from the VERY noisy kitchen extractor fan. Best one is Cowslip which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Eastbury in August for 1 night, whilst in Sherborne. They have a car park round the back - easy to find.

We booked a Superior Room and stayed in the Yew, which we were shown to on arrival. Throughout our stay the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The room was large, nicely decorated. It had it's own walled courtyard accessed through French Doors with a lovely water feature. A lovely area to sit out on a nice evening.

The hotel is conveniently located for visiting the Abbey and shopping areas and Sherborne Castles.

We did not have chance to eat at the Sherborne, but did enjoy a great Indian meal in the centre of town.

Upon departure I received a call from the Sherborne informing me we had left a phone charger and checking details to post on to us. Great customer service and something that I find rare (I stay in hotels ever week for business and on the odd occasion when I have left something I have always had to contact the hotel!).

I would definitely stay at The Eastbury again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Firstly, the good points:-

- they accept dogs
- lovely (although not extensive) gardens
- charming restaurant (which was very convivial when we were there)
- friendly staff

the things we were less enamoured with:-

- the bedroom whilst nicely decorated wasn't massive
- the noise from the kitchen extraction fan seemed to run all night

I know a previous reviewer said that they were in Kingcup - and I'm sorry, I really can't recall if we had the same room but our room faced directly to the rear, so I would suggest that you avoid rooms overlooking the restaurant patio (as our room did).

The food was very nice but seemed a little pretentious (a jus of this, a timbale of that) but I have to say there were quite a few locals there who seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Booked 4 rooms in the Eastbury for Mon - Thu from late Mar 11 until early Jun 11 for me and my employees whilst working away. The reception staff were helpful, ever friendly, and really flexible when it came to the inevitable late changes each week to our booking. During our stay we used most of the standard rooms, and the occasional Superior and found all to be clean and comfortable, as well as good value. The food in the restaurant was consistently good with a good wine selection, all served by knowledgeable, helpful and friendly staff. Sitting outside on the terrace, under the large umbrella and effecient heaters was a delightful way to enjoy a drink an a bowl of olives prior to dinner. In fact I enjoyed it so much I am taking my wife and mother back for a weekend soon!

Room Tip: All very different so call the receptionists to talk through your requirements. Not all have a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Took a friend for lunch. Food and surroundings wonderful. A beautiful place to hold wedding reception. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but am sure the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing