We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet experience”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited this hotel three days ago for two nights - our third visit. This time we took an elderly friend and were anxious that the standard had remained the same. I am delighted to say that it was just as good as ever! The bedroom was pretty and clean, and overlooked the garden (although our bathroom could do with a bit of an update - having said this, it was perfectly adequate with lovely fluffy towels, robes and toiletries and a HEATED TOWEL RAIL, always a plus for me!). The gardens are well kept and very attractive and the lounge restful and comfortable.Now the food! One of the best hotel breakfasts we have had with gorgeous coffee! The food in the evening was wonderful - innovative and quite delicious - congratulations to the chef! Our elderly friend was equally impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neann2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for The Eastbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner booked the Eastbury for 2 nights for my birthday celebration. We stayed in the Quince room which was high under the rafters and directly above the bar/restaurant; the room was cold and I requested additional heating, which was supplied. The problem was that the hotel seems to be mainly corporate based and there was an event in the bar which kept us awake until after 1.30 am, when mentioning this to the proprietor the next morning my partner was told that unfortunately there was a free bar that night. I subsequently read a further review from another guest who said the same thing; this to me shows a complete lack of respect and a total disregard for the independent traveller's comfort. On the positive side, the breakfasts were great, waiting staff friendly and the grounds lovely. Sherbourne is nice Dorset town, I would visit again but not to stay at the Easbury.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

I am very sorry that our noisy guests disturbed your night's stay with us. We do try very hard to manage bookings in this room so that people who are not related to a party or function are not put in it. If we have a function taking place and none of that party is staying , this room is not sold. On the particular night you stayed we had a small dinner for a corporate customer and we could not anticipate that they would enjoy themselves quite as much as they did, until as late as they did.
When you came to check out our receptionist apologised but was unable to do much more as the moment had passed. If you had called down and made us aware of the extent to which you were being disturbed we could have moved the guests to our lounge, where they would not have been disturbing anyone.
I am sorry that you will not be returning but I am grateful that you were able to mention some positive aspects to your stay and I thank you for your comments.
Paul King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Excellent stay with friendly service, pretty room, comfy bed and an amazing locally sourced breakfast. Right in the heart of Sherborne.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed 1 night but wished we had been able to stay longer. We booked last minute and got an excellent room rate which was extremely good value. Our room which overlooked the garden was comfortable, spacious and clean and the bath and shower room could not be faulted. We dined in the restaurant and our meal was first class, well presented and served by a delightful waitress. Breakfast was served from the kitchen which is always a plus. It was
hot and delicious and I have to say the freshly brewed coffee is the best quality we have ever had in a Hotel anywhere and that is not an exaggeration. The main shopping street in Sherborne is a short stroll along from the Hotel. We will definitely return to the Eastbury Hotel and the beautiful town of Sherborne.

Room Tip: Our room was called POPLAR on top floor - excellent
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at The Eastbury recently just for one night. The front of the hotel on the street looks modest but the rear garden and patio area is a lovely oasis. We had a room on the top floor, spacious bedroom and spacious bathroom with separate bath & shower. It is an old building and the floors and windows are charmingly wonky ! Our room was at the top of some very steep and narrow stairs that would not have been suitable for someone elderly or less than agile. The room had tasteful modern touches with contemporary colours and fabrics - not at all chintzy. The TV reception & wifi was good. We ate in the conservatory restaurant and the food was good. The cheesboard was brilliant and the waitress was well informed about the individual cheeses offered ( seven in total).Breakfast was very good, proper sausages which were yummy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here to attend a local wedding. We booked a superior double and were happy to find ourselves in a large and comfortable renovated room overlooking the garden. However, in the evening, the garden was host to a wedding (not the one we were there to attend) making our night noisy. Breakfast was included and was adequate but not memorable. Other meal options were limited due to limited staff so we fended for ourselves at the local pubs.

Overall, the hotel was a good option in the small town of sherbourne- not overalls luxurious but clean and renovated. Prices were a little higher than expected for the area, but not unreasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkinsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I loved our room. We had one of the superior rooms, and it was great to be finally in a room that's better than the one we have at home. It was large with a massive bed, and a generously-sized en-suite, with a separate shower and large bath. We stayed for two nights and had two breakfasts and one evening meal. The food was delicious and seems to be sourced almost entirely from local producers. We arrived by train and the hotel is only about a 10 minute walk, if that, from the station. It's also very near the main street, Cheap Street, and you can also walk to Sherbourne Castle in about 15 mins if you don't have a car. Highly recommended if you want a romantic break only two hours from London Waterloo. I hope I come back.

Room Tip: I had 'Tamarix', a superior room, and it was great.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb2512cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
825 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: £138 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing