We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent by any standards”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent by any standards”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We fancied a short break and saw a very good deal from the Eastbury Hotel. We found it every bit as good as did previous Trip Advisor members. Friendly and courteous staff, very comfortable and well-appointed room and very good food. We had the tasting menu on the first night. A very adventurous selection. We wished we had gone for the selection of wines chosen to complement the various dishes. The hotel is well-positioned to enable one to explore Sherborne, which is a delightful small market town.

Room Tip: Our room (Quince) was quiet, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerThornhill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    164
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
436
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Eastbury with friends on a fantastic rate, which included the 7 course sample menu.
We upgraded to superior rooms which were in the gardens outside the hotel, just opposite the door to the dining room. One friend has walking difficulties & the room provided on the ground floor was perfect - everything on the level, walk in shower with seat & grab bars. Both rooms had cafetieres, robes & lovely soft towels. They were spacious & the bathrooms, with under floor heating, were immaculate & modern.
Now the food: an absolute delight & a true gourmet experience. The restaurant (on a Thursday night) was almost empty & the service we received was top rate. Everything was cooked to order & to perfection. We did not take the recommended wines for each course but the wine we did have was very good.
The gardens are beautiful & well tended - had it not rained pretty consistently it would have been nice to sit out on one of the many tables with parasols.
Sherborne has a variety of shops & tea/coffee shops, & is pleasant to walk around, although busy.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Eastbury as a great place to stay, but do try the food as it really is exceptional.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a superior room as they seem a lot more spacious. Our room, Rowan, had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Having stayed at the Eastbury before we took 2 friends for Sunday lunch.
The restaurant was busy but not full so we did not have to wait too long for our drinks. However 2 of the glasses still had lipstick marks from previous use on them. These were quickly changed for clean galsses by the waitress.
The food was well cooked and beautifully presented and very flavoursome. In between courses we were presented with small samples of other dishes that the Chef was testing which was a nice touch.
The overall experience was a good one and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtdsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Eastbury for a 40th Birthday. The room was a little cosy but had everything you needed. Comfy bed and warm shower. Had a great night with old friends and the gardens are wonderful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and more importantly the staff were friendly and attentive what more do people want? We would definetely go back next time we are in Sherborne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thabamorula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I live in Sherborne and my elderly mother wishes to come and stay this Spring. Our accommodation is totally unsuitable as stairs are a problem for my mother.
We went to see The Eastbury and were given a fully guided tour of all the rooms by very obliging and friendly staff.
We decide to have a drink in the bar while we read all the information on the hotel and living in Sherborne were very pleased to discover that drinks prices at The Eastbury are really very reasonable. So often hotels get your custom and then rip you off on extortionate bar tariffs.
The restaurant was busy and this was a week day lunch.
Very impressed and will give more advice once members of our family have been to stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website some rooms are far better than others but the staff will advise you when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited this hotel three days ago for two nights - our third visit. This time we took an elderly friend and were anxious that the standard had remained the same. I am delighted to say that it was just as good as ever! The bedroom was pretty and clean, and overlooked the garden (although our bathroom could do with a bit of an update - having said this, it was perfectly adequate with lovely fluffy towels, robes and toiletries and a HEATED TOWEL RAIL, always a plus for me!). The gardens are well kept and very attractive and the lounge restful and comfortable.Now the food! One of the best hotel breakfasts we have had with gorgeous coffee! The food in the evening was wonderful - innovative and quite delicious - congratulations to the chef! Our elderly friend was equally impressed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neann2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner booked the Eastbury for 2 nights for my birthday celebration. We stayed in the Quince room which was high under the rafters and directly above the bar/restaurant; the room was cold and I requested additional heating, which was supplied. The problem was that the hotel seems to be mainly corporate based and there was an event in the bar which kept us awake until after 1.30 am, when mentioning this to the proprietor the next morning my partner was told that unfortunately there was a free bar that night. I subsequently read a further review from another guest who said the same thing; this to me shows a complete lack of respect and a total disregard for the independent traveller's comfort. On the positive side, the breakfasts were great, waiting staff friendly and the grounds lovely. Sherbourne is nice Dorset town, I would visit again but not to stay at the Easbury.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
I am very sorry that our noisy guests disturbed your night's stay with us. We do try very hard to manage bookings in this room so that people who are not related to a party or function are not put in it. If we have a function taking place and none of that party is staying , this room is not sold. On the particular night you stayed we had a small dinner for a corporate customer and we could not anticipate that they would enjoy themselves quite as much as they did, until as late as they did.
When you came to check out our receptionist apologised but was unable to do much more as the moment had passed. If you had called down and made us aware of the extent to which you were being disturbed we could have moved the guests to our lounge, where they would not have been disturbing anyone.
I am sorry that you will not be returning but I am grateful that you were able to mention some positive aspects to your stay and I thank you for your comments.
Paul King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing