We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed with another couple on a Secret Places offer which was first class value. We had a room called Willow which is in the Courtyard and entered through French doors. Looked very recently refurbished, spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Superb bathroom. I have read about the differing rooms and the fact is that in an old building there will be a wide variety and maybe the prices should be slightly graded to reflect that, but we had no complaints at all.

However, the highlight was the tasting menu which was superb. 7 courses always sounds a lot but they were all modestly sized and beautifully presented. We also had the wines to go with them which is very much personal choice but I feel that if some-one has gone to the trouble of matching them up in this way then it seems a shame not to try them. A good source of debate to see if they actually work! ( mainly although perhaps not the Prosecco?)

All the staff we encountered were friendly and attentive. I suspect some of the earlier reviews that are critical would not be written now and of course every-one ( guests as well!) has off days.

Although we were able to get in (just )I can see the carparking on a very busy night is a problem but there is not much I could see the hotel can do about it ( unless they take in part of their garden which would be a great shame and I suspect would detract from the overall ambiance) There are NO yellow lines immediately outside the Hotel in Long Street and our friends parked literally outside the front door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliAnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for The Eastbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here on a Travelzoo local offer. We had the 7 course tasting menu which was outstanding. The hotel itself was beautiful. Clean and friendly with beautiful gardens. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We fancied a short break and saw a very good deal from the Eastbury Hotel. We found it every bit as good as did previous Trip Advisor members. Friendly and courteous staff, very comfortable and well-appointed room and very good food. We had the tasting menu on the first night. A very adventurous selection. We wished we had gone for the selection of wines chosen to complement the various dishes. The hotel is well-positioned to enable one to explore Sherborne, which is a delightful small market town.

Room Tip: Our room (Quince) was quiet, spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerThornhill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Eastbury with friends on a fantastic rate, which included the 7 course sample menu.
We upgraded to superior rooms which were in the gardens outside the hotel, just opposite the door to the dining room. One friend has walking difficulties & the room provided on the ground floor was perfect - everything on the level, walk in shower with seat & grab bars. Both rooms had cafetieres, robes & lovely soft towels. They were spacious & the bathrooms, with under floor heating, were immaculate & modern.
Now the food: an absolute delight & a true gourmet experience. The restaurant (on a Thursday night) was almost empty & the service we received was top rate. Everything was cooked to order & to perfection. We did not take the recommended wines for each course but the wine we did have was very good.
The gardens are beautiful & well tended - had it not rained pretty consistently it would have been nice to sit out on one of the many tables with parasols.
Sherborne has a variety of shops & tea/coffee shops, & is pleasant to walk around, although busy.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Eastbury as a great place to stay, but do try the food as it really is exceptional.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a superior room as they seem a lot more spacious. Our room, Rowan, had a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Having stayed at the Eastbury before we took 2 friends for Sunday lunch.
The restaurant was busy but not full so we did not have to wait too long for our drinks. However 2 of the glasses still had lipstick marks from previous use on them. These were quickly changed for clean galsses by the waitress.
The food was well cooked and beautifully presented and very flavoursome. In between courses we were presented with small samples of other dishes that the Chef was testing which was a nice touch.
The overall experience was a good one and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtdsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Eastbury for a 40th Birthday. The room was a little cosy but had everything you needed. Comfy bed and warm shower. Had a great night with old friends and the gardens are wonderful. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and more importantly the staff were friendly and attentive what more do people want? We would definetely go back next time we are in Sherborne.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thabamorula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I live in Sherborne and my elderly mother wishes to come and stay this Spring. Our accommodation is totally unsuitable as stairs are a problem for my mother.
We went to see The Eastbury and were given a fully guided tour of all the rooms by very obliging and friendly staff.
We decide to have a drink in the bar while we read all the information on the hotel and living in Sherborne were very pleased to discover that drinks prices at The Eastbury are really very reasonable. So often hotels get your custom and then rip you off on extortionate bar tariffs.
The restaurant was busy and this was a week day lunch.
Very impressed and will give more advice once members of our family have been to stay.

Room Tip: Look on the website some rooms are far better than others but the staff will advise you when booking
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
828 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: £139 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing