We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely stay in a very nice hotel. Like many before us we stayed on a package deal including the 7 course tasting menu, beautiful food fabulously presented. Breakfast the following morning was equally superb, al freshly cooked to order.
The only thing that stopped it getting a maximum score were the little details. The first room we were given had a large mould stain in the bathroom and had no mirror adjacent to the hair drier (big no no according to my wife). The second rom was much nicer with excellent facilities but was stil missing basics such as a clock in the room.
It was a lovely stay though in a very nice hotel within easy walking distance of a lovely town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    162
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
431
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in the Eastbury as part of a deal through 'Secret Escapes'. We had one of their standard room and the seven course taster menu. We splashed out on the accompanying flight of wines to accompany our food. It was all stunning! Amazing food, wonderfully presented and with great service. Would love to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The basic room was lovely enough for our liking. Great big bathroom, candles round the bath and fluf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just home from a two night stay at The Eastbury. From the moment of booking the whole experience was relaxing, comfortable and most enjoyable. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean,with lovely, big towels and a nice view of the garden. We ate the superb tasting menu with accompanying wines....wow! Breakfast was good especially the gorgeous fresh fruit, Greek yogurt and purees
Looking forward to going again.....soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caw982016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had the 7-course taster menu and a fabulous night. I'd highly recommend taking the wine flight with the 7 courses. Utterly enjoyable!

We will be back. The room was superb, with a double-ended bath, good size bed and all the comforts you could ask for. Of course, it was great to wake to a breakfast that was just as good as the evening meal beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Room was fine with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and plenty of storage. Reception was very efficient. Breakfast was great. Plenty of parking and extensive garden. Easy 5-10 minute walk into town centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Second time at the Sherborne. Always wonder whether the second time will live up to past memories. No problem. Everything from the staff and the service was just as before. Beautiful room (stayed in the Sycamore again). Spotlessly clean, roomy, plenty of toiletries and fresh towels and bathrobes. Lucky enough to stay in plenty of hotels and this is one of the better ones. Thoroughly recommend. Excellent breakfast too!!

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Sycamore...............excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and was entirely underwhelmed. The single room was tiny, the single glazing made it quite noisy and hot, the radiator in the bathroom seemed to be held together by electrical tape and to get in to the shower you either needed to climb over toilet or get in at shower end which either involved soaking the room or standing in freezing water for 5 minutes whilst the hot water came through. On the plus side food was reasonably good (not spectacular) and most others in the group apparently had quite nice rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing