We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quintessential English Hotel”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“quintessential English Hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Delightful two day break at this accomplished establishment.
Superb superior room which was very comfortable and well appointed.
The 7 course tasting menu could grace a top London restaurant, I have eaten lesser meals at some of the TV's celebrity chef's restaurants and paid lot more money!
I could not fault my stay in anyway this is a gem that deserves success.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulberryhel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    167
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
445
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our third stay at this lovely hotel. Wonderful food. I would recommend the 7 course tasting menu with the wine flight. Great service from friendly staff and good choice at breakfast from the buffet table as well as breakfasts cooked to order. Very pretty garden, free parking, nice cosy bar and only a five minute walk into the town of Sherborne. A lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We found this hotel via "Secret Escapes" and booked a 3 night package including the 7 course tasting dinner. The dinner was fantastic - nothing was left on our plates. A choice of breakfasts are available and I appreciated the choice of healthy options at the buffet table including all the fruits and homemade mueslis (particularly loved the beetroot and ginger!). The staff were always friendly and did everything to a high standard. The location is great just a 5 minute walk into the lovely town of Sherborne where you can enjoy the abbey, nice shops and plenty of good restaurants. Our room was small but had everything we needed, the beams added character and gave it a cosy feel. Would recommend the Eastbury and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went on a Travelzoo deal on recommendation from friends who had stayed at this beautiful hotel earlier in the year. We upgraded to a Superior Room and had the 7 course tasting menu which was complimented by a flight of wines! This was presented with perfection together with the courtesy of the hotel staff to match. This hotel also has a very cosy little bar. Breakfast next morning was plentiful - probably the best breakfast we have ever had on a hotel stay. The town on Sherborne is only a short walk away where the people were very friendly and helpful. I hope it wont be too long before we can return to spend maybe a little longer at this peaceful and perfect retreat!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a superior room - well worth it! We had the Rowan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely stay in a very nice hotel. Like many before us we stayed on a package deal including the 7 course tasting menu, beautiful food fabulously presented. Breakfast the following morning was equally superb, al freshly cooked to order.
The only thing that stopped it getting a maximum score were the little details. The first room we were given had a large mould stain in the bathroom and had no mirror adjacent to the hair drier (big no no according to my wife). The second rom was much nicer with excellent facilities but was stil missing basics such as a clock in the room.
It was a lovely stay though in a very nice hotel within easy walking distance of a lovely town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in the Eastbury as part of a deal through 'Secret Escapes'. We had one of their standard room and the seven course taster menu. We splashed out on the accompanying flight of wines to accompany our food. It was all stunning! Amazing food, wonderfully presented and with great service. Would love to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The basic room was lovely enough for our liking. Great big bathroom, candles round the bath and fluf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just home from a two night stay at The Eastbury. From the moment of booking the whole experience was relaxing, comfortable and most enjoyable. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean,with lovely, big towels and a nice view of the garden. We ate the superb tasting menu with accompanying wines....wow! Breakfast was good especially the gorgeous fresh fruit, Greek yogurt and purees
Looking forward to going again.....soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caw982016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
518 reviews
2.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing