We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews!”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Endorse all the recent favourable reviews of this very good hotel. In tamarin superior room overlooking courtyard which spacious quiet and very comfortable with contemporary decor. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very impressive for unusual muesli and accompaniments. 7 course tasting menu imaginative.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bob3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had the special offer from Secret Escapes that included the 7 course taster dinner, which was delicious The staff here, both restaurant and in reception were very efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally located just a few minutes walk from the town centre.

The first night we had the room called Delphinium and as someone has stated earlier, this room is rather strange as the only windows are at floor level and with frosted glass together with a skylight. Therefore, you could not see what the weather was doing. Also that night there was a loud persistent and rapid knocking which appeared to be coming from the kitchen below. Otherwise the bathroom with this room was roomy and well equipped with a power shower in addition to the bath. When the noise was reported to reception we were immediately moved to an adjacent room, Quince.

This room was more pleasant as it overlooks the garden, albeit over the restaurant roof. However, we were warned that the bathroom was due for refurbishment which meant it was somewhat dated. The bath robes provided in each room were very welcome.

If it was not for this problem with the room we would have awarded it 5 points. Don't miss the beautiful abbey and all the individual shops, all with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely one night break in a comfortable hotel. We were in Geranium room and had the 7 course tasting menu, which was superb. We could not fault it and look forward to being able to return. Sherborne has a magnificent Abbey, which is well worth a visit. The town was a pleasant amble after a very satisfying breakfast, with plenty of choices and HOT coffee! Not always a given.
We went on to Lyme Regis and accomplished a lot in under 48 hours.
Thank you Secret Escapes for this lovely find. We should have stayed longer..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineSusieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Delightful two day break at this accomplished establishment.
Superb superior room which was very comfortable and well appointed.
The 7 course tasting menu could grace a top London restaurant, I have eaten lesser meals at some of the TV's celebrity chef's restaurants and paid lot more money!
I could not fault my stay in anyway this is a gem that deserves success.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulberryhel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our third stay at this lovely hotel. Wonderful food. I would recommend the 7 course tasting menu with the wine flight. Great service from friendly staff and good choice at breakfast from the buffet table as well as breakfasts cooked to order. Very pretty garden, free parking, nice cosy bar and only a five minute walk into the town of Sherborne. A lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We found this hotel via "Secret Escapes" and booked a 3 night package including the 7 course tasting dinner. The dinner was fantastic - nothing was left on our plates. A choice of breakfasts are available and I appreciated the choice of healthy options at the buffet table including all the fruits and homemade mueslis (particularly loved the beetroot and ginger!). The staff were always friendly and did everything to a high standard. The location is great just a 5 minute walk into the lovely town of Sherborne where you can enjoy the abbey, nice shops and plenty of good restaurants. Our room was small but had everything we needed, the beams added character and gave it a cosy feel. Would recommend the Eastbury and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went on a Travelzoo deal on recommendation from friends who had stayed at this beautiful hotel earlier in the year. We upgraded to a Superior Room and had the 7 course tasting menu which was complimented by a flight of wines! This was presented with perfection together with the courtesy of the hotel staff to match. This hotel also has a very cosy little bar. Breakfast next morning was plentiful - probably the best breakfast we have ever had on a hotel stay. The town on Sherborne is only a short walk away where the people were very friendly and helpful. I hope it wont be too long before we can return to spend maybe a little longer at this peaceful and perfect retreat!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a superior room - well worth it! We had the Rowan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Charlton Horethorne
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: £142 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing