We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Restaurant”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our stay in Sherborne was excellent, mainly due to "The Eastbury", although the town is really nice to wander around.
Back to the hotel, we had the 7 course tasting menu, fantastic my complements to all who cooked & served it.
Excellent facilities in the room and very comfortable.
Breakfast selection is amazing, from freshly prepared fruit, to home made jams and chutneys.
The "Full English" is made from local produce, the menu tells where all the produce comes from.
The end product is a very good breakfast, again complements to all.
Thank you to all at "The Eastbury" we will return>

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a non basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    167
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
445
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I took a two day short break at the Eastbury in November. There was a small problem with the first room we were shown but that was corrected quickly and without any fuss. The room we had included a four poster bed and while the room was very comfortable, a shower rather than a bath would have been better. The deal we had included the seven course taster menu on the first night and breakfast on both mornings. We ate all our meals in the hotel and without exception the food was some of the best we have ever had. The tasting menu was superb and the breakfasts amazing. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and the standard of service both at reception and in the restaurant could not be faulted. The hotel is located only a short walk from the town centre which must be one of the most charming in England. Sherborne Abbey is a must see, the interior is magnificent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fotomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We had a special deal £109 for a seven course tasting menu, and bed and breakfast. We then paid £20 for a superior room.
We could not fault the hotel.
Our room was warm and comfortable, and the food excellent. Charlotte and Karin looked after us well at dinner.
Breakfast was good, with two interesting varieties of muesli.
There is a car park at the rear of the hotel, but not very convenient. We managed to park on the road at the front of the hotel.
Sherborne is a lovely town, and easy to walk to all the attractions from the hotel.
We would like to return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor - Verbena. Nice room, but fairly small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked another break through Secret Escapes website (some very good deals at similar hotels, at half the price) and glad we did.

Our room - Rowan - was delightful, clean, tidy and nice and warm, bed was a delight very comfortable, slept like a log.

Food was a different class, we had the Tasting menu! each course was a taste sensation! We liked the tandoori mackerel, beef and the autumn sweets the best! and shared cheese and biscuits! with a nice drop of port. Second night we chose from off the menu, and once again the food was a delight, the steak melted in my mouth.

The standard was set and maintained with the breakfast, the full English was cooked to order, and well worth it, try the porridge to get your taste buds going.

All the staff were polite, courteous and at no time were we made to hurry.

Over all I would recommend this hotel, and we will return in the summer months, so that we can take advantage of the quiet secluded garden

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tugbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

During all of our pre-arrival communications we had gotten excellent vibes from the staff regarding our planned three-night stay. About a month prior to our arrival at the beginning of October we decided to upgrade from a Superior Room to a Luxury Room and opted for Yew to avoid stairs. When we arrived we were quite disappointed to find the lighting in that room to be unacceptable because of the wiring which made it difficult to arrange comfortably. I pointed this out to the owner who agreed with us and we have been advised that they have made some changes to improve upon it.

A second issue was the lack of a wi-fi signal and, as we have now become accustomed to each of us traveling with our own iPads, this would not work for us. The owner tried to boost the signal but could not. Prior to making the final decision to go elsewhere for our additional two nights which had been planned for the area a member of the staff took my wife around to show her all the other available rooms. They could not find one with a strong wi-fi signal.

The co-owner was gracious in helping us to find other lodging and, after the fact, reduced our bill by a nominal amount. I suggested to her in my thank you note for that gesture that I had felt it was about half of what I thought appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I do not often give an hotel 5/5 because there is usually some little thing that lets it down - not so with the Eastbury, everything was great.
The welcome was warm, all the staff that we had contact with were friendly, helpful and very professional.
Our room was well furnished and equipped, comfortable and cleaned to a high standard (as was the rest of the hotel). It was lovely to get up in the morning, brew a cafetiere of fresh coffee and enjoy the homemade biscuits.
Our bathroom was a good size with bath and separate shower. Loved the large soft bath towels - and face clothes were provided ( often missed out these days)
We enjoyed the taster menu for dinner. Every course was delicious, well cooked and beautifully presented.
Breakfast was excellent. A good choice and the quality of the ingredients in the 'full English' was first class. I have never tasted better bacon and the mushrooms actually tasted like mushrooms (not the flavourless little 'buttons' that most hotels serve up.
Thankyou The Eastbury Hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel itself is a beautifuL period townhouse with a really nice garden out the rear. There is a lovely living room where we had a nice afternoon tea. What's really worth mentioning is the food - our seven course tasting menu in the evening was absolutely delicious, we ate every single mouthful. Really interesting menu which was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. We had a fantastic Malbec to go with it and when the sommelier spilt a little bit of it she offered us both complimentary dessert wine which we thought was really generous. The breakfast the next morning was also really good. I was disappointed with our room however - it overlooked the garden with double-fronted doors which was nice but meant we couldn't really have them open because it was so public and the curtains had to be drawn if you didn't want anyone peering in so it was a bit dark. I also thought the room totally lacked character and I'd been expecting an individually styled room. The website also said that all superior rooms (which ours was) had sliding shoji-style bathroom doors which ours did not - I actually checked whether ours was indeed a superior room (it was). One other niggle is that we asked at reception for walking directions to the old castle and were told it was 1/2 a mile up the road. The directions are fine but the castle had been closed for nearly a month for winter which we couldn't help thinking the receptionist must have known. Bit unhelpful.
All in all though we did have a lovely weekend and the food was really exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in Willow which is a superior room but we were slightly disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abyzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
518 reviews
2.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing