We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming hotel in delightful town”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a delightful couple of days at The Eastbury Hotel in Sherbourne, Dorset.

Our room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. There were tea/coffee making facilities - and real milk if you wanted it! The bathroom was very modern with a good size bath and a terrific shower. The bed was supremely comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent with hot dishes cooked to order. The conservatory overlooking the garden was a very pleasant place to sit.

For dinner we had the tasting menu on our first night and it was extremely good. So much so that we returned the second night to eat from the a la carte menu.

The hotel staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. All in all - aside from better weather - we could not have asked for more from our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor of the main building. Ours was not a standard room. It was bigger than...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for The Eastbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We required a buffet tea for 60 people and this hotel came up trumps. Innovative and delicious finger food with a good selection and bottomless quantity of drinks (non alcoholic). The set up with several smaller rooms in use meant that we never felt we were a crowd and it was possible to find a small table in a corner to sit at, whilst it was also possible to circulate and mingle. At the same time, the bar was open for those that wished to have a beer or a gin.... Another function was going on in the restaurant, but we were only aware when we wandered in on it. The hotel provided enough staff to prevent either function from suffering. We were allowed to be there for as long as we wished and they were happy to send an invoice through the post. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a large function, and could not fault the service, friendliness or quality. We paid £9.75 a head and think it was unbeatable value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My son and I decided to visit my mother-in-law for Christmas. We did not want to give her any extra work so opted for a Christmas meal at the Eastbury. She did not have room for us both at her home, so I choose to stay at the Eastbury. The hotel was lovely, the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and the Christmas meal was the best I had ever eaten. The breakfast and snacks were equally good. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed over the Christmas period so we were unable to try that. I had a single room which was small but well decorated. A great Christmas was had by us all and went by all too quickly. The train journey down and back due to the stormy weather was another story !!

Room Tip: Single room was small and at the top of the house up steep stairs. Could be difficult for an older o...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Always loved visiting Sherbourne but never stayed but finding the Eastbury Hotel last night changed all that
Delightful room, lovely food and great staff made us forget the awful weather outside and can't wait to return.
Have already emailed friends to take advantage of amazing DT offer - no wonderful thy were full.

Room Tip: We couldn't fault a standard room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Huge thanks to all the staff at the Eastbury for making our family stay over the xmas holidays so special. The food was excellent, (including the breakfast) local produce of high standard.
It was a return visit for us and lovely to see the restaurant had been really nicely decorated and that all the christmas decorations and trees were done tastefully to make the hotel feel cosy and traditional over christmas. Gary and Debbie on reception were really helpful and friendly, as were staff in the restaurant and the ladies cleaning the room too (rooms were spotless!).
Love Sherbourne over the xmas period - the services at the cathedral, local markets and shops.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've just had a one night pre-xmas stop at The Eastbury, and this is a really easy review to do.... The hotel is lovely, very cosy, decorated in the xmas spirit, and staffed by really nice helpful people. Rooms look freshly decorated and spotlessly clean, we had a superior but the standard double we glanced in was equally comfortable. 7 course taster menu was great, we waddled out of the restaurant very very full... breakfast was equally tasty. For summer visits the garden and terrace looks good, but gales and torrential rain this week for us alas. Well that's the good bits... and the bad bits? .....there simply wasn't any for us, we loved it and will return. Sherborne is a lovely village to wander around too.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good, from the lowly double up to the heady heights of the luxury ones....
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is better and you can really make the most of all that Sherborne and the local area have to offer and perhaps have your tasting menu on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Charming hotel full of character. Wonderful 7 course tasting menu, I tried things I would never normally choose and presentation was excellent. Very friendly staff. Loved my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs breakfast, one of the best ever! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ticaramist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastburyReception, Owner at The Eastbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

You'll have to come back in the spring when the tasting menu will be changing and sample some fabulous local seasonal produce cooked the Eastbury way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
824 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: £137 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing