We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our second visit to The Eastbury and it was very good. The tasting menu with wine flight was excellent, the breakfast was excellent with lovely touches. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a very well organised business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick_and_Jane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    164
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
436
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a one night break which included the 7 course taster menu as part of the package. We were a bit early to the hotel but the room was ready for us soon after this which was the start of the excellent service we receved throughout. We stayed in Rowan whch was nicely finished and furnished and the bed was super comfy. We took the wine flight with the meal which although not cheap was well worth it as they accompanied the dinner beautifully. The food was absolutely fantastic, couldn't praise it enough, and the service from the drinks in the bar to the waiting staff matched it perfectly. Fot just an extra £2.50 we were supremely lazy and had breakfast delivered to the room - this was top quality as well. Thanks for helping us have a relaxing and much needed break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I want to move in and live here. Loved the area, the Abbey, the Lake area with the two castles and surrounding countryside. Spotless room and bathroom. I personally do like a bath as well as a shower. Let's get on to the food! We had a seven course taster menu and it was absolutely superb. Most of the ingredients are sourced locally and some are grown and, in the case of the honey, produced there. Staff relaxed and welcoming. Back to the food! Breakfast was wonderful and the main feel was that quality mattered. Planning to go back in the summer when we may be able to make more use of the delightful little garden.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for one night on a deal including the 7 course taster menu. Our room, Jasmine, was on the first floor overlooking the patio and garden. While the decor was good, there were signs of wear and tear and the sash windows were draughty and in need of repair. Despite these comments the room was very comfortable and the extractor equipment on the outside (mentioned by previous customers) did not disturb us or affect our sleep quality. The tea and homemade biscuits in the room were appreciated after a day exploring Sherborne.
We were shown into the bar area where we ordered drinks and perused the taster menu. When our meal was ready we were then taken to our table in the conservatory which we thought was lovely. The tables are well spaced and being almost full there was a good atmosphere in the restaurant. Staff at all times were attentive and friendly describing each course as it arrived. The food was absolutely delicious; some of the courses are quite small but very tasty with interesting combinations. Overall we found the menu to be an excellent selection and one of the most enjoyable meals we have experienced.
The excellent breakfast comprised a buffet, with some unusual muesli choices, and hot food to order. As with the evening meal, service was good.
We will remember our trip fondly because of the delicious food and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Eastbury on a Saturday night and we were shown to our room "Delphinium" which is in the eaves above the bar area. Although the room was very clean and tidy, there were no windows with any sort of view (two low windows which were frosted glass). The bathroom was large and clean.

We soon realised that there was no phone signal and the Wi-Fi, as described on the website, and in fact you didn't have any signal until you were in the reception area. It didn’t bother us too much as it meant we had no choice but to ignore our work but it’s frustrating to be offered something then it obviously not be available (as we’ve now seen on many of the others posts).

We had the 7-course taster menu for dinner and the quality of the food was excellent. A lovely selection of different foods but it was let down by the slow service. After 45 minutes, we'd only been served our amuse bouche but after a nudge, things did speed up a little bit. The restaurant was full of couples (with it being Valentines weekend) but there was a real lack of atmosphere which I think could easily be improved just by a reshuffle of the tables. Luckily we were in the conservatory area but some people were stuck in what looked like the overspill room for functions. Breakfast was lovely with lots of hot and cold options although again, the speed of service let them down.

The sleep quality was poor owing to a strange noise from the kitchen below until the early hours. If we'd been booked to stay another night, we would definitely have asked to change rooms.

Overall a pleasant stay but there are areas that I think could be improved with little effort or expense.

Room Tip: Avoid the Delphinium room which is quite small with no views and noise into the night from the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had originally booked a different hotel for Valentines weekend, a little closer to Salisbury but were let down on the day as the hotel had no electricity. A family member suggested the Eastbury Hotel and boy, were we glad that they did!!! We were incredibly lucky to get the last room they had which was a superior room named Willow. The room was delightful, spacious and very comfortable, with a fabulous bathroom, huge big bed, French windows out onto the courtyard at the back of the hotel, and a lovely box of tea and coffee making goodies. The lovely bathroom has a wonderful deep bath tub and a separate shower.. plus excellent water pressure for the most luxurious shower ever! We had our Valentine's meal in the restaurant at the hotel, which is in the lovely conservatory. Well what can I say but wow!! The food was first class and beautifully presented. Breakfast the next morning was also taken in the conservatory, and we were lucky to have some sunshine so the view out over the garden was wonderful. I can't say enough good about this hotel. The staff were all fantastic, everyone was friendly and helpful. They even helped us to print off a boarding pass for a flight later that weekend. This was a memorable Valentine's and we will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: Willow was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

An excellent hotel which we had used some 12 years previously for a group reunion weekend. This time we returned for a Secret Escapes deal, but there was some mix up between the Eastbury and SE as to what the deal included ie actually dinner included on first night only, to our disappointment. This was sorted only by detailed involvement by myself and I cancelled one of the 3 nights booked. The stay was otherwise excellent, apart from us being put in a room (Quince) with inadequate heating. However, it was blowing a 'hoolie' outside on the first night! The taster dinner and all food and service were excellent, but we would recommend avoiding this cool room on winter visits.

Room Tip: Ask about heating (the central heating came on rather later than expected in our rear facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Property: The Eastbury Hotel
Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing