We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Eastbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Eastbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from Secret Escape two night deal. Excellent value, friendly welcome, the taster menu was fun and enjoyable. We had a luxury room in "YEW". This room was gorgeous, lovely little walled garden with sitting out area, really sweet.

Staff friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upgrade to "Yew". This is an excellent room, couldn't have been happier with things.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for The Eastbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

recently took advantage od secret escapes package enjoyed sherborne but found this hotel a little tired.the room could do with a deep clean and overall tidy up the deal with dinner was good value but I would not want to spend any more due to the quality of the room,the owners and staff were very nice but i'm sorry cleaning seriously needs improving!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold190804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A fantastic value overnight break including a 7-course taster menu. The meal was very good, served in a type of conservatory restaurant overlooking the lovely garden. Drinks are reasonable and staff are friendly and helpful. Our standard room was adequate and a bit old fashioned but this was made up for by the dinner and lovely breakfast. It is really worth visiting as Sherbourne itself is very interesting with its old abbey and of course the castle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiselustig58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed on a one night Secret Escapes package on a busy Saturday.

We were attracted by the 7 course taster menu which was delicious and of a high standard. The restaurant is quite small an intimate and the food and service was good. Breakfast was also excellent!

The bedrooms are a little disappointing and in need of a freshen up. The problems of an old building pose some challenges with regards to the plumbing. The bath was on a raised platform and the ceiling was low. This made having a shower near impossible.

Wifi reception was also patchy in the room.

The hotel is located in a very picturesque town and has a large garden which is probably delightful in the summer.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and for what we paid we considered this good value for money.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have mobility problems make this clear to the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We arrived at the Eastbury having booked through Secret Escapes, so not really knowing much about it. We were shown to a lovely room which I find hard to believe is just a Standard room...... it was large and comfortably furnished with a huge bed and amazing en suite! I had mentioned to the receptionist that I had a dietary problem and found that the staff really bent over backwards to accommodate me.......the chef even cooked something for me specially on our 2nd night.... we had enjoyed our meal so much on the 1st night that we ate there again. Our waiter was particularly nice and made me feel that nothing was too much trouble food wise I would wholeheartedly recommend the Eastbury and very much hope that we will be going again soon. I have already passed on one of their cards to friends! Definitel one of the nicest hotels we`ve ever been to!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is a little shabby but we paid for an upgrade which was definitely worth the extra cost. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean.
The seven course tasting menu was delicious and the service friendly.
I have rated the hotel as average but I would rate the restaurant as very good.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've just celebrated my Mother's 75th birthday with a surprise party for 40 at The Eastbury Hotel. We chose it as my Mother's had a couple of meals there which she really enjoyed and she lives just around the corner.
Throughout all the arranging, Nicky, the owner was very pleasant and helpful. The actual party could not have gone better. The venue with the garden was perfect on a sunny day, the staff were all extremely professional and friendly to just the right degree, the food was lovely. We really couldn't fault any of it. A fantastic 'do'.
We would have no hesitation in recommending The Eastbury for a special occasion if you can afford it (and the prices are not too bad for such a good place).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherborne
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
825 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastbury Hotel

Address: Long Street, Sherborne DT9 3BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sherborne
Price Range: £138 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eastbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town-House Hotel dating from 1740, located near Sherborne's train station, historic castles & Abbey. Typical of the period, it has graceful, light and spacious rooms which offer home-from-home comfort throughout. Located in the heart of historic Sherborne, you can relax in our walled garden while only being a short walk from all the town's shops and amenities. Our Conservatory Restaurant is award winning, having achieved 2 AA Red Rosettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eastbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbury Hotel Sherborne
The Eastbury Hotel Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing