We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality throughout”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn exterior
Table and BBQ Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Barn exterior
Table and BBQ
Kitchen
Kingsize master bed
Master bedroom, TV and DVD
Dinning area
Trenchermans Deli and Wine, a short walk from the barn
Compton House, previously a butterfly farm
Second bedroom
Second Bedroom
Powerful show over the bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PEKLincol...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything you could wish for. Alison and Ian have furnished and equipped the barn to an extremely high standard. From the furnishings and appliances right through to pots and pans everything is top quality and in perfect condition.
On arrival the barn was spotless and the generous welcome pack was a great bonus. Wonder if there is a pizza cutter? Yes it's in the drawer. Would be nice if we had an explorer map of the area, oh look, here it is. Almost got to the stage where I tried to catch them out looking for obscure cooking implements but they are all there!
The outside seating area is such a lovely area. A very quiet area with only the odd friendly local walking their dog down the lane. The peacocks are regular visitors and their calls are about the only noise you will hear.
Such a quiet little hamlet but only about half a mile from the main road so easy access to the many great places to visit in the area. We have made easy day trips as far as Devon and the New Forest and Bournemouth.
Any questions or advice that you could need is always available from the owners who have been superb right from my first enquiry.
Top marks all round from me. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe G
1 review
“A wonderful relaxing stay in a comfortable and beautifully appointed cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We couldn't fault the barn in any way. Very clean with a few added touched by the owners, Ian and Alison, that made our stay even better. Home from home! Peaceful and the perfect location for exploring Dorset and Somerset - thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sndy2015
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at the Barn”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in November 2014

The stay has been great but you need to have a commutation of your own as public commutation as the daily supplies are not nearby. The owners have been quite supportive of our stay (during winter, he had setup the heating to a higher temperature for our daughter).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall place
Liked least: Nothing as such
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Well-equipped kitchen meant we could cook properly each evening. Lovely shower.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jujubee88...
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing, cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 4 nights with my mum and our terrier dog (who loved it!)
really nicely furnished, modern and has all the mod cons. its everything we needed.
also very clean and lots of storage space in the bedrooms.
Really nice walks around the local area and i liked the welcome pack they had in the lounge. the barn is on a country lane which was fine, it was good having a gated courtyard as we could let the dog out not worry about her wondering off.
she has sadly passed away since so i feel like this was her last doggy holiday with us, the last day was also my birthday.
would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, the walks and views are probably the best thing
Liked least: the noisy peacock from the farm nearby
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Hi, Thanks so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have made a few changes since your stay. We have recently added a built in wardrobe and new furniture in the second bedroom, you can see pictures on our advert, I hope you like it.

We would look forward to you staying again.

Best Regards
Ian and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing