We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of The Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bakehouse
Ranked #9 of 24 Sherborne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked on my phone after seeing the location, once I arrived my expectations were met. After I left I'm convinced this is the best value accommodation I've stayed in, centrally located, good food, great service and cheap. Not sure what people expect for the price but I couldn't ask for more, the B&B is run by a chap who enjoys his job. I would stop by again if i'm in the area. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alvin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

very disappointed, generally it felt like a real let down, although Malcolm was nice and the breakfast was tasty I felt like I was staying in a single man's hostel! He was not there to meet us and all the blinds were drawn, I had to knock loudly and phone twice before I got entry.We were given an attic room with random furniture (and not in the good 'shabby chic' kind of way) which we had to get to through a courtyard area where other residents were smoking, the smell carried into the dark hallway which had a random chair left at the end. In the bathroom, although superficially clean, there was masses of hair in the plug hole which I had to remove to have a shower (Malcolm not being there when we arrived to talk to about it) and this revealed lots of hair showing this had not been cleaned for some time, Essentially our room looked nothing like the pictures on their website and I was suspicious of how clean things really were. The breakfast food was good however the kitchen area was very dirty and dusty with lots of clutter and a dog wandering about, some people had said it felt cosy but these people obviously don't have clean homes because it made me feel uncomfortable. When I was shown to a table for breakfast someone had previously been eating there and the cup and plate and crumbs were just left there! Also there was a regular beeping sound throughout the night (like you get when the batteries on your smoke alarm are going) so that was annoying. Location was very good if you need to be in central Sherborne but overall it was very disappointing and ruined our planned romantic weekend away :(

Room Tip: choose a room in a different B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

i am very sorry you were not happy with your room , the attic family room is in my view is well kept and spacious , most of our guests seem to be happy with us , we can not be held to account for other guests smoking in an outside area , i dont like smoking full stop but feel it would be unfair to ban it totally and you are just walking past them to get to your room ,, your comment quote ,( ,some people had said it felt cosy but these people obviously don't have clean homes because it made me feel uncomfortable.) seems to be very
disrespectful to people who you have never met maybe ,! weekends here are very busy and sometimes crumbs are missed i hope you were not too traumatised by the experience , its also made very clear we are dog friendly so its not surprising that you may meet one .. we feel our website truly reflects our rooms thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had read all of the previous reviews, and granted Malcolm is wonderful, what a warm and generous individual. Malcolm offered to watch our dog after she wouldn't settle for the evening so that we could enjoy an evening out. Breakfast was nice and made to order as every one commented on
On the other hand, despite the lovely welcome and generous host, the accommodation was a little lacking, firstly, they use coded locks to enter the front door and all the rooms. Unfortunately the locks can be glitchy and require patience! Even when you thought you had them figured out, you didn't. The lights in the hallway were on a timer but lasted only seconds, not giving you a chance to get the code on the door into place. Luckily Malcolm came to the rescue and knew the codes despite the dark. My mother in law struggled with a lack of heating and in Malcolm's defence did everything he could to sort the issue and all was fine. Late night quests loud and obnoxious but again nothing that Malcolm could have prevented and he made amends for the disturbance.
All in all, just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakelley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcs52, Owner at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

i am sorry you had problems with our code system ,we have used these for almost 10 yrs ,this system in our view is easy to use but we understand when people are elderly and poor sighted it can be a problem , as for other guests returning back late and being noisy ,,this i know is very boring , we try our best to make sure guests act in a respectful way and as you mentioned we gave you a discount to reflect this , finally the heating comes on at 6 am til 11 am and then from 5pm til 9 pm , we dont heat the house all day long as we assume people will be out during the day , i might add that the majority of our guests are happy with our services and i am sorry you were not. kind regards malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was working in the area, and needed a cheap friendly place to stay, this was perfect. After working a hard week i was able to arrive at a time that was convenient for me,, was shown my clean room and bathroom. Was offered a glass or two of wine (on the house) Breakfast was great and made to order, (even at a time earlier than normal). Internet is free and fast. I will be returning to the Bakehouse next time i'm working in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Staying for a family event in the town, we were told that we could arrive at our convenience and we received a very friendly welcome from Malcolm. The room was warm, but not too hot, with all the usual facilities you would expect at a B&B including a large screen TV and a nice shower. Amazingly, you can order an evening meal at this comfortable, very friendly house, which is close to the centre of Sherborne, the station, Abbey and the main shopping street (Cheap Street). Breakfast is cooked to order and the owner welcomes you in the morning with a firm hand shake. We could even leave without paying and pay by internet transfer from home. Thank you for a wonderfully homely stay and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Arriving early evening in Sherborne for a family occasion, we received a lovely greeting from the owner & his beautiful golden Labrador 'Charlie'. Our room was clean and warm, with a large bed, big flat screen TV, & the requested view of Sherborne Abbey. The ensuite shower was nice and hot with excellent power (morning and early evening). Bed comfortable. Most important for me was the breakfast... cooked to order and delicious! Other reviewers say "Home from Home" and I felt that here. A lovely atmosphere day and night and an owner who cares for his guests. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose room 2. Wonderful view of Sherborne Abbey both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Old Bakehouse over Christmas.

A very friendly welcoming B & B, my room was extremely comfortable, nicely furnished

Always good to have a decent shower in the bathroom, and the one at the Bakehouse was no exception.

Plenty of large bath towels provided.

Good supply of Tea, Coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room.

Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, and served from 7:00 till 11:00.

Highly recommended, and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Britannia Inn Hotel
The Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Sherborne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#3 of 24 in Sherborne
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Address: 1 Acreman Street, Sherborne DT9 3NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sherborne
Price Range: £74 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Bakehouse Stone Built With 10 Rooms, Courtyard Garden, Dog Friendly, Wi-fi, Evening Meals, Intimate And Friendly, A Pleasant Alternative To A Large Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Hotel Sherborne
The Bakehouse Sherborne, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing