We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to Swanage”
Review of The Castleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castleton
Ranked #16 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very friendly family run bed and breakfast. Excellent cosy rooms.Would recommend to a friend (and have already done so). Well located with a short walk to the beach and centre of town. Easy access to coastal walks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for the feed back. We hope to see you again soon in Swanage.
With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for just one night at the end of a long walk along the Jurassic Coast. The Castleton was the ideal place to finish the walk. Very comfortable, an excellent nights sleep and a terrific breakfast next morning. Melvin and Rebecca have only relatively recently taken over the Castleton but their professionalism and enthusiasm were clear to see. They will be a great success in Swanage and we would certainly like to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 173RobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to welcome you here again soon.
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome, great rooms with excellent shower, and the most important thing a good full English breakfast . Great value for money. Will definitely be back at some time in the future. Just a short walk from swanage. Also try the crows nest pup oppisite for a good evening meal.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. You were among the first guests after we bought the business.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed one night. We were given room 2 which is lovely and has a great seating area looking out to sea. I am quite picky when it comes to cleanliness but The Castleton is SPOTLESS. Maggie and Julian are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Julian kindly carried our bag to our room and showed us what we needed to know. The bathroom was huge and had separate bath and shower. Living in the country we wondered if the room would be noisy but it wasn't, we slept very well. Breakfast was good and there was a good selection to be had. Would we go back...yes and hope to return next year. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a good size and you can see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Castleton was first class, a home from home, the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bedroom very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent and plentifull with the service again first class.

Maggie, the hotel owner recommended the pub oppersite he hotel for evening meals, this was an excellent choice, really good.

Parking coud be a problem.

All in all 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lovely and friendly people. Very welcoming especially to families with children. Very nice clean room (no.8) and excellent breakfast. Great location, just about 200m from beach and 10mins walk to town centre. Would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect for families with young children as it has a twin room next to the double so great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Castleton maintains its exceptionally high standards year-in year-out, with spotlessly clean and well maintained rooms and superb cooked breakfasts that are both tasty and healthy. My husband and I stayed in Room 3 again (our favourite), which has a king-sized bed, seating area and a shower with strong water pressure. Thoughtfully, Julian (the helpful, friendly and engaging owner) had provided a fan and a spare sheet (in case we wished to discard the duvet) in the room. Maggie's poached eggs were as superb as ever. This is definitely the place to stay in Swanage - we came across it 4 years ago when we were looking for an alternative to the Grand Hotel where we had been put in a pokey, shabby room by indifferent staff who couldn't care less whether or not guests were enjoying their stay. Julian and Maggie, on the other hand, go out of their way to help their guests have a fantastic break. We have already booked the Castleton for next year!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a good size and has an excellent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.2 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castleton

Address: 1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £83 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming & Luxurious 4 star gold award winning Victorian Guest House, full of character, on the stunning World Heritage Jurassic Coast and located just 100 metres from Swanage's glorious sandy beach and a short level stroll along the seafront to the Town Centre with its many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castleton Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing