We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four day break”
Review of The Castleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castleton
Ranked #16 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I plus two small children (2 and 4) just had a very pleasant four nights at the Castleton. They are in a great location with the beach one side and the Crows Nest Inn on the other! Town is a leisurely 15 minute stroll along the beach front. Rebecca was the perfect host, breakfasts were splendid and all our needs catered for. We'll be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for the feed back and your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again here in sunny swanage.

With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a very pleasant three nights in Swanage when we stayed at The Castleton. Melvin and Rebecca were extremely good hosts and nothing was too much trouble even though they were rushed off their feet at times. My husband has a bad leg and Melvin kindly made sure that we got a parking space by giving up his own for the duration of our stay. The room we stayed in (no.3) was beautifully presented and had a most comfortable bed and very good shower. The dining room was spacious and light and the guest's sitting room welcoming and comfortable. We will certainly visit again. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aljenBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and positive comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we look forward to seeing you again here in sunny Swanage..

With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just completed a very enjoyable 3 night stay at The Castleton. Comfortable room, pleasant airy guest lounge and well appointed breakfast room. Nice touch with bottled water in room and a little fridge to keep it cool. Also a fan which came in handy as the days were hot. The hosts, Melvin and Rebecca have a great "can do" approach and made us feel very welcome. If the opportunity arises we will definitely visit again sometime. A mostly level walk into Swanage , only the first 100metres is on a moderate incline, after that its a level walk with the sea and beach beside you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voidzboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to be able to look after you again in future. The fridges are always well received during the warm weather along with our fans.

With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having stayed at the Castleton several times over the years and always had top class service, we had some reservations when we heard that, this year iit had changed hands. No worries.. We found Rebecca and Melvin a delightful couple, very welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile to keep guests happy and content. The Castleton remains in good hands and a first class hotel. Thanks R & M for a wonderful Stay.

Room Tip: our favourite room is No. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and feed back. This is exactly the feed back we have been working so hard to achieve. Maggie & Julian had set a very high standard.
Rebecca and I see ourselves more as custodians rather than owners of The Castleton and are fully committed to re-investing the profits with a view to continually improving the experience of all guests.

With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at this B & B in Swanage.
The owners are very friendly and obliging.
The room was comfortable and clean with all facilities.
The mini fridge and complimentary bottled water was much appreciated, as was the fan as it was rather warm weather. It is these little things that make 'The Castleton' special.
Our room faced west so became a bit too sun-warmed from afternoon to evening.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Fresh coffee and fruit was available.

Two small gripes:
1) The website says Wi-Fi is available in all bedrooms. It was very unreliable in ours on the first floor. We had to stand by the door to get reception. Clearly the owners need to get a booster for their router.
2) To claim a small car park is stretching a point somewhat. There are 3 usable spaces, none of which were available during our 3-day stay. However, finding a parking space on a nearby road was no problem. Just remember to unload your luggage before looking for a roadside parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wave-train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we do try our best with the little touches and it's lovely to see that this is appreciated. We have also recently invested in a brand new cat 5 enabled computer network which will be installed next week to fix the occasional Wifi connectivity issues which are common in Victorian buildings.
Our car park is very small, i'm afraid we can't do anything about this. On a positive note we are less than a 2 minute walk from the beach.

We do hope to see you again and thank you very much for the feedback.

With kindest regards

Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We decided to take a last minute break in Swanage as I was recovering from major surgery. We found the Castleton to be a gem of a hotel in a jewel of a resort! We have stayed in Swanage before but this hotel far exceeded any of our previous stays. Charming Melvin and Rebecca could not do enough to make our short break a success. Lovely spotlessly clean rooms with full 4 star facilities, beds and a superb breakfast! We were given a free up-grade to a deluxe room when it became available. The hotel is barely 200 metres from the beach, and what a beach!! Absolutely ideal for families, and even oldies like us. The weather was blazingly warm, as it often is in Swanage. Why go abroad when you can stay here? We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm so pleased that you found The Castleton. Rebecca and I look forward to seeing you again in "Sunny Swanage"!

We hope that you had a pleasant journey home.

With kindest regards

Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are a family of four, living in Singapore and returning to visit relations in the UK. We chose to stay at the Castleton as they promised a suitable family room for us and our two boys (7 and 4 years old). We are happy to note that the room (with separate sleeping areas for the boys and parents) did not disappoint.

The children had a separate room for themselves (two single beds), which were very comfortable and spacious. We had a shared bathroom, which was very spacious and plenty of linens and towels to go round.

Us parents had our room separate room, also very spacious and clean. Rebecca and Melvin also provided fans for both rooms, as we requested, which helped keep the room cool as we visited in the summer.

The family room had ample storage (closet and chest of drawers), hair dryer, additional towel racks (since it's accommodating more than two persons), coffee & tea making facilities, a mini fridge, and an informative handbook on where to visit and eat around Swanage. We also noted a travel baby cot in the huge closet, so parents travelling with infants will have this extra service available to them.

Breakfast was good, if not too much for us! The children requested for the smoked salmon, which they hardly ever do elsewhere, so kudos to kitchen crew.

I'm particular about cleanliness and Castleton met my expectations :)

Our only suggestions are:
- to have a separate TV in the kids room, so parents can have a bit of down time watching a channel of their own choice!
- a bigger bed in the master room

Wishing the new owners, Rebecca and Melvin all the best, and thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 8 if you're travelling as a family. Separate sleeping arrangements/rooms for two children a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feed. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
You were all a pleasure to meet and look after.

With kindest regards
Melvin & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.3 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castleton

Address: 1 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming & Luxurious 4 star gold award winning Victorian Guest House, full of character, on the stunning World Heritage Jurassic Coast and located just 100 metres from Swanage's glorious sandy beach and a short level stroll along the seafront to the Town Centre with its many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castleton Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing