We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, extremely pleasant and helpful hosts, wonderful breakfast. First class all round.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenlee Guest House
Ranked #1 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation, extremely pleasant and helpful hosts, wonderful breakfast. First class all round.”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Accommodation was exceptionally clean, well kept, comfortable beds. Breakfast was superb, beautifully cooked, with wide range of choice available. Hosts were extremely pleasant and most helpful. There was a lovely 'feel' to this place. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
153
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Touring the area, liked the atmosphere of Swanage, so thought we'd find a quiet place to stay the night. The Glenlee was our choice. A few minutes walk from the seafront. It was in a quiet residential area, facing beach gardens that had tennis, bowls and a putting green.
Greeted by Martin, the owner. The room we had, although small, was extremely well laid out & practical. They'd even managed to fit in 2 comfortable seats and a little table.
Well laid out bathroom, shower over bath was ok, shower curtain not so practical.
Walked into Swanage for dinner. Whilst walking along the seafront earlier we had noticed a fish & chip shop / restaurant that always had a queue outside.
I think it was called "The Fish Plaice" the fish was really tasty.
Back at 'Glenlee' there was a very spacious comfortable lounge with large flat screen tv & choice of dvds. We chose to catch up on a bit of TV, before retiring to our room.
After a comfortable night. Breakfast , served by Martin, was a bit disappointing.
Just your average B&B fare, only not a lot of it, the sausage was extremely peppery.
Martin said "Cheerio !" as we left.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed (for the fifth time!) for a week in the height of the summer season. As we had stayed before, we knew exactly what to expect and were not disappointed. Ann and Martin looked after us admirably. The biggest decisions of the week are 'how do you want your eggs for breakfast?' and 'are we going to the beach today?' We've already had ourselves pencilled in for next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Plusses:
- nice location next to leisure park, 3 minutes walk to the beach
- good friendly service
- parking right in front or behind the guesthouse

Minusses:
- we had a small room on the groundfloor next to the toilet...
- breakfast was ordinary - no fresh fruit, small selection of cereals
- strange smell at entrance

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrtychrs, Owner at Glenlee Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
The ground floor room you had is our smallest room and is usually the last to be booked. It has been refurbished since your visit with new furniture etc. Also we take onboard your comments on the breakfast and we now have a range of fresh fruit (strawberries, bananas, blueberries etc).
As for the strange smell at the entrance, I'm not sure what it was but it hasn't returned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My Partner and I have stayed at the Glenlee every year since 1992 with the single exception of 1998, we both love Swanage and as far as we are concerned the Glenlee is perfect for our needs. Ann and Martin Jones (the owners) are extremely welcoming and do everything possible to make your visit 100% enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you are likely to need. We usually stay at the Glenlee on a B&B basis as we like to eat out in the evening, but we have on occasions had evening meal at the Glenlee and have to say it has been excellent quality and extremely good value. the Breakfasts served are excellent both in choice and quality, in fact we consider them to' have the edge' on anywhere else we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P.Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2008

After a long drive down from Northampton, we were met at the glenlee with a welcome second to none by Ann and Martin the proprietors. We were there for the weekend during which time we felt very comfortable and relaxed. the Glenlee is very clean and well situated close to the amenities but without having the noise or disturbance. Our hosts were a mine of information throughout our stay.

  • Liked — the welcome and the breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lez147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlee Guest House

Property: Glenlee Guest House
Address: 6 Cauldon Avenue, Swanage BH19 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenlee is a friendly, well run guest house where you can be sure of a warm welcome and a relaxed, peaceful stay. It is a short, level walking distance from Swanage's award-winning beach and town centre. We have a 4-star Silver Award rating from Visit England and facilities include a private car park, free Wi-Fi throughout the building, an alcohol licence and a large guest lounge in which to relax, chat, read, play games including darts, browse the comprehensive tourist information, gaze out over the front lawn towards Beach Gardens or simply enjoy a drink or sandwich. In warm weather guests enjoy relaxing, perhaps with a drink, in the loveseats on the south-facing patio or in the cosy sun porch, their experience enhanced by the scent of fragrant roses in our pretty front garden. We offer evening meals in summer months and during selected weeks throughout the season. Books, magazines and newspapers are available for guests to enjoy during their holiday and a personal daily paper can be ordered on request. All rooms are en suite, tastefully decorated and have fresh flowers, high-definition Freeview smart TVs (able to access catch-up services such as BBC iPlayer), DAB radios and hot drink-making facilities with delicious biscuits. At Glenlee we try hard to ensure guests have absolutely everything they need for the perfect break. English and German language spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenlee Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing