We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenlee Guest House
Ranked #2 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on 12th may 2012. We had difficulty finding any hotels that excepted one night stays for a wedding we was attending in swanage and eventually found this one via tourist information and what a find! We were welcomed with a friendly smile and even had our bag carried to the room for us, we stayed in room 1, which is a huge family room, even has a lounge area. Everything was clean and tidy and lots of little extras in room which made all the difference. Breakfast was lovely too. A great hotel and may even come back for a longer break some time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
120
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Glenlee is very comfortable and well appointed and is complimented with excellent home cooking. (we took advantage of the optional evening meals and what a great decision) The rooms are very well decorated and our room which was one of the superior rooms on offer was very comfortable indeed. The Glenlee is well situated in a very pleasant area of Swanage and within walking distance of the town centre.There are some very nice touches such as flowers and fresh drinking water in the room and fresh milk is available at all times in a refrigerator in the dining room should you prefer to have this instead of UHT milk for the welcome tray drinks. Martin and Ann obviously take great pride in their Hotel and nothing is too much of a problem. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Glenlee to anyone and if we visit this area again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

It has been a few years since we last stayed at the Glenlee with our children. This time it was just the two of us, back for a few days walking. We stayed in room 1, which is spacious, very well decorated and has comfortable beds. Martin takes pride in his hotel, and nothing is too much trouble. Access to fresh milk for the in-room coffee/tea making facilities is a nice touch.The breakfast options cater for all tastes.
A great place to stay, easy walk into town or beach.
Will be back again.
Kevin & Denise

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 are the more spacious rooms, with seating in teh bay window areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Glenlee is situated in a quiet area of Swanage, overlooking tennis courts, and near the sea, but within easy reach of the town centre. We stayed in two rooms during our fortnight's holiday, both beautifully decorated and furnished, and with vases of flowers. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits, and there was also a welcome tray in our room. The bathrooms are of a high standard, with luxurious toiletries provided. The full English breakfasts were cooked to perfection, as were the evening meals, and the service was first class.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent, but probably the best are on the first floor, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroxall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The service can only be described as excellent, nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed in room 2 which is a large family room with seperate bathroom. This room was clean, comfortable and very welcoming.
Glenlee is situated within easy walking distance of all amenities and is on a quiet road so there is no disturbance at night.

Parking is very easy with a choice of on site or street.

The meals are out of this world, excellent choice of menu at all meal time .All the meals are freshly prepared and are beautifually presented and I certainly got enough to satisfy my large appetite we particularly enjoyed the home made preserves at breakfast..

We felt very welcome from the moment we entered and were treated this way all the time we were there.

We would definately stay there again and would highly recommend Glenlee to anyone else.

At Glenlee you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for another week (6th?) and have already provisionally booked for next year. Enough said!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We experienced a good warm welcome when we arrived. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The meals were good and presented well and the service was also very good. The hotel is in a very nice location and we were overlooking a park. It is only a few minutes from the beach and all the town amenities.
What we liked least was the Coq au vin dinner and best the rooms and general position of the hotel

Room Tip: The two superior rooms have the best view and we consider room 2 to be the better of the two superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenardhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlee Guest House

Property: Glenlee Guest House
Address: 6 Cauldon Avenue, Swanage BH19 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenlee is a friendly, well run guest house where you can be sure of a warm welcome and a relaxed, peaceful stay. It is a short, level walking distance from Swanage's award-winning beach and town centre. We have a 4-star Silver Award rating from Visit England and facilities include a private car park, free Wi-Fi throughout the building, an alcohol licence and a large guest lounge in which to relax, chat, read, play games including darts, browse the comprehensive tourist information, gaze out over the front lawn towards Beach Gardens or simply enjoy a drink or sandwich. In warm weather guests enjoy relaxing, perhaps with a drink, in the loveseats on the south-facing patio or in the cosy sun porch, their experience enhanced by the scent of fragrant roses in our pretty front garden. We offer evening meals in summer months and during selected weeks throughout the season. Books, magazines and newspapers are available for guests to enjoy during their holiday and a personal daily paper can be ordered on request. All rooms are en suite, tastefully decorated and have fresh flowers, high-definition Freeview smart TVs (able to access catch-up services such as BBC iPlayer), DAB radios and hot drink-making facilities with delicious biscuits. At Glenlee we try hard to ensure guests have absolutely everything they need for the perfect break. English and German language spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenlee Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing