We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Clean”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Ranked #10 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Arrived in Swanage on a spur-of-the-moment short break. The Tourist Office on the sea-front was helpful, but their room availability was out-of-date, so we used Trip Advisor instead. Ocean Lodge is next door to Clare House - locally well-known as an excellent establishment - and although their frontage is modest, inside is a different story. We stayed in a double room at the top of the house. It was compact but had an en-suite shower, everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfy. An excellent night's sleep was followed by a fabulous English breakfast, served by friendly hosts. We would stay again if we're in the area - recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITchappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
129
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wonderful stay at Ocean Lodge. Rooms were spotless and very comfy. Breakfast in the morning was amazing plenty of cereal, fruit and cooked food it really set us up for the day. Great location for walking to the shops. Would come back to this lovely little gem again and again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bo_peep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Another excellent stay with Sue and Colin for the swanage folk festival.As usual they made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were first class.We had no complaints at all,the rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable.Tea and coffee is provided.We have been to swanage many times and will have no hesitation in booking with sue and Colin again.This gets my five star rating.

Room Tip: First class Gets my five star award
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzthebigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our second stay here did not disappoint, Infact reaffirmed Ocean Lodge in Swanage is a real gem and hard to beat. Perfect in everyway. This was the third room we have stayed in and although all have been good this room ( the family room) provided by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. ( 11 hrs solid sleep for me both nights) although really too big for two if you like the extra space and luxury this is the room for you. Colin and Sue are lovely and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and never fail to be accommodating and kind and offer a wealth of local knowledge and suggestions of places to visit. The breakfasts yet again are incredible and even my fussy 7 year old out his order in as soon as we arrived.
A wonderful stay again And we cannot wait to return. I wish I could keep this little gem of a place our secret but that would be just selfish. Anyone wanting to visit Swanage should check it out. 10/10 and more
Emily and louis

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilyloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved our stay here. The owners made us feel at home and they cook an amazing fried breakfast! The rooms very modern, spacious and clean. We were fortunate enough to have the family room for just the two of us which comes with a fridge and a free bottle of milk. You also get self catering facilities like tea/coffee and biscuits (which is replenished daily!). Our bathroom had a spacious shower (no bath) which wasn't the most powerful in the world but did the job. The bed was extremely comfortable and I didn't want to get up in the morning, it was only the smell of breakfast cooking that made me! Orders for breakfast will be taken between 8.30am and 9.15am. The lodge is just a stone throw from the high street and local pubs so it couldn't be more ideally situated. If you fancy an early night (we didn't) then noise can be a problem as there is always some decent cover bands playing in the pubs. The only slight downside to staying here is the parking! You will be very luck to get a space on the road outside, they were in high demand during our stay and at one point I had to park all the way up the top of the hill. I am sure it's not as bad outside of school holidays. This is only the place we will look to stay at now when we next return to Swanage.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a family rooms gives you 1 King Size Bed, 1 Single Bed and 1 Pull Out Single Mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poetsofthefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just back from another brilliant stay at Ocean Lodge. It must be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are clean, beds very comfortable & the breakfasts excellent. The only downside, which isn't the hosts fault, is there is no parking so have to take your chances on a very steep hill, but that won't put us off booking next time we visit Swanage. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After staying one night in a hotel in Bournemouth which wasn't to the highest of standards, the ocean lodge was a real pick me up and made the holiday so much better. The welcome was very warm and Colin and Sue were more than willing to attend to any requirements as well as cooking a superb breakfast with a large variety of options including fruit, full English and local teas and cereal. The family room was very clean and neat and had a modern feel. The beds were large and comfy and the en-suite was very large and tidy. The room had a excellent soundless fridge and drinks facility. The guest house was only 30 seconds walk into the centre of swanage which was a lovely small town. I highly recommend the ocean lodge as being one of the best guest houses that i have stayed in the past few years. I would definitely stay there again and recommend highly to anybody else travelling to that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 3 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is a family run guest house in the centre of Swanage. Only 2 minutes walk from shops, restaurants and bars, Swanage Victorian Pier, award winning safe beach and Swanage Steam Railway. Divers, Walkers, Cyclists and Golfers are welcome at Ocean Lodge. We are surrounded by great walks and one of the south's premier golf courses only a shot distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing