We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #18 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I emphasize - it's a pub!

Good simple reasonably-priced pub food, amazing selection of beer and cider, perfectly served. Friendly but not subservient staff; if you want to be grovelled to by monkey-suited waiters, go elsewhere. If you like good food, good drink and the crack with friendly staff and locals, come here. Great mix of ages and of locals and visirtors.

Interesting old building, too.

We ate here twice and finished every evening of our holiday here. My only regret was that we couldn't take it home with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoraceHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    131
    44
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite haunt of our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We loved this pub, great beer, loads of cider and fab food. We went to steak night and got a huge beautifully cooked steak with all the trimming for 4 with 2 bottles of wine all for about £50! Brilliant value, yummy cheesecake and great service. It's clear this is where the locals all drink which we thought was a good sign for the best pub in town. We will be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottielotbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you like rude rip off places”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The staff unhelpful and rude, they clearly only like the locals and no visiting public.

Not a clean environment and toilets terrible.

Staff only bothered about big party of cyclists turning up and then want to charge £6.80 for a pint of diet coke and a pint of lime and lemonade....

I would prefer to be mugged then enter that place again. At least the robber would have had manners when taking your money !!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelittlepigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Fri evening visit not pre booked waited 15mins for a table in the time waiting enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and a cider from their vast collection.
We ordered the Friday special. Steak and bottle of wine for two. Steak cooked to perfection and the salad in a bowl chopped up was impressive and fresh and delicious also. House red was wonderful wine not cheap and nasty. Even though restaurant was full and busy you could still chill and chat comfortably. Staff where attentive and polite. Smile always on face and had a chat with you also. Will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassybabe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Good food, good selection of drinks, all at reasonable prices. Nice seating out the back, but not much seating indoors if it was busy (which it is most nights!) Staff always up for a laugh.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanJones1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing