We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #18 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had dinner here one evening. The quality of the food was really good as were the portion sizes. Cheesy chips could be better though with an option of different cheeses.
The Red Lion offers a fantastic range of ciders and friendly service. It has a good sized garden and is located close to town centre and all Swanage attractions. Very good pub.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kinga001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    136
    45
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

From the reviews on Trip Adviser I was expecting something half decent but the fact that there was no problem with a last minute booking on Easter Sunday should have raised a warning.

We arrived at the pub to a barrage of noise from the bar and were shown to our table in the restaurant area. We had to pick our way across a sticky floor covering which may once in its life have pertained to be a carpet but years of spilled drinks and food and dirty shoes had turned it to a blackened layer. We sat at a table that had seen better days and then noticed the empty bottles and rubbish on the floor from previous diners that hadn't been cleaned up.

It was then that we decided that the ambience wasn't quite what we were hoping for to enjoy our Easter Sunday evening meal so we upped and left. Can't comment on the food and drink as we didn't get that far I'm afraid.

The landlady did ask why we didn't want to stay. We pointed out the rubbish on the floor (which she shrugged her shoulders at and blamed the previous diners) but didn't have the heart to say we'd rather have eaten at the local burger van!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub grub in Swanage”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a great pub. Food is excellent. Staff welcoming. Probably the best place to eat in Swanage. Very good value. Generous portion sizes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good cider pub with pleasant cider garden”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Gets my vote for Swanage hostelries, a very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours, 2 hours here is 2 hours less shopping. Can't wait for next shopping day. Good choice of ciders, so nothing much more needs to be said.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
565 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A group of ten of us ate here on a Sunday lunchtime. We had prebooked the table and it was ready for us when we arrived. The menu has a good choice and there is also a specials board.
The outside seating area was very busy, but inside the pub it was quieter.
Our waitress was very efficient and all our meals were very good. We can recommend the liver and bacon, the roast beef, and the sweet and sour. The portion sizes are generous and the prices very good value. We would definitely recommend the Red Lion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing