We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #18 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

just returned from a wonderful week in Swanage, we ate at this pub twice ,both times the food was excellent ,far better than your average pub grub, on our last night I had the crab ,crayfish and chilli linguine , I requested no chillis and these were omitted, I can honestly say it was devine so much flavour loads of crayfish and crab it was the best I have ever tasted .All the others meals were just as good , there were seven of us and on both visits the quality of food and service was excellent , don't expect a plush fancy interior , this is a pub that serves great food at sensible prices ,there is a large outside area at the back ,plenty of tables , the staff are great cant do enough for you , will definitely eat there on our next visit , there is also a small play area for children.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linzandick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    129
    43
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab food and excellent service from our waitress Bethany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Despite a very busy night at this pub the service was excellent, the food was of restaurant quality, nothing was to much trouble, will deffo visit again, if your in swanage give the Red Lion a try you wont be disappointed

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, lively pub with kids garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A nice pub in the old town of Swanage, good food, great value and a good place for the kids to run around outside as there is a small play area with slides.- Nice, cheap and lively!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chetters72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“At last - a decent eaterie in Swanage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found this pub too late on our stay, otherwise we might have come more often. Two of us enjoyed the ham, double egg and chips while Mrs W ate the home cooked burger with cheese which she described as the real deal. Service was friendly and atmosphere good. The car park tucked away behind is a very handy thing as well. You can eat outside in the sunshine if (unlike us) you don't have a child who is scared stiff of dogs. Though we did not try the ciders or the beers there appeared to be an excellent selection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterandBeccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“53 types of cider”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We ambled along here from our campsite having just arrived and pitched our tent. Fantastically friendly bar staff who helped us find cider we liked from their vast selection. Three pints of cider later and we ambled back to our tent all the merrier. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank GrumpySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing