We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #18 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Friday night is steak night at The Red Lion. When we went the pub was busy but the service was prompt and efficient. Our steaks were cooked as ordered and the portions were a good size. The red wine was average. However, for £24.95 for two including wine, we thought it was good value and will eat there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 04061977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    131
    44
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had four meals here during a fortnight's family holiday. All meals were really good value - large portions and well cooked. Menu provides a good selection of meals. Despite being busy meals were served promptly and staff were very helpful and pleasant. Will certainly eat there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owermoigne Dorset
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Won't visit again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends, pub was not busy. Visit did not start well with pint of Timothy Taylor served was end of barrel cloudy and undrinkable. Ordered food for 5 adults and one child both sausage dishes served had under cooked ( cold and pink in middle) sausages they were replaced but same result. How can you get sausages so wrong ? Finally replaced with ham egg and chips ok but everyone else finished. No discount or apology offered.
Sorry would not go again.

Helpful?
Thank TLPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“food review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

had lunch and two dinners here all meals were of excellent value and quality. no hesitation to recommend this pub for meals

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unclean and bad service, too”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently ate at The Red Lion to celebrate a friend's birthday. Why we didn't walk out as soon as we left, I'm not sure. We were ignored by three members of staff who were too busy discussing seating plans to look up and even acknowledge us.
The carpet is an inch thick in crud and how we weren't ill from the food I don't know, as the kitchen was well below par.
I had the fish and chips, a classic British pub dish and it had absolutely no flavour, I had no idea this was even possible but even repeated sprinkles of salt couldn't rectify the taste.
Even my blackcurrant cordial had missed the cordial - surely this isn't a hard drink to make?(It's not, I've worked in a bar) I dread to think what the beers must taste like - unclean pipes probably.
All in all a massive disappointment that left us hungry, thirsty and looking for somewhere to clean ourselves.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing