We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing breakfasts”
Review of Buddies B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buddies B&B
Ranked #33 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Tiverton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfasts”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Top floor room with en-suite and new TV and plenty of room. The landlord - Jason - is a character, and a Jeremy Beadle lookalike. He is an excellent host and cooks a five star breakfast at weekends (with wife Lindsay to help).
Its a continental breakfast weekdays which is a let down as it lacks the traditional cold meats / cheese we expect to see on the continent although he did do toasted buns and choce of toasts to follow wide range of cereals and yoghurts. We had a three night stay so noticed the contrast between the fabulous weekend breakfasts and the basic Monday morning fare.
Unrestricted street parking right outside the front door which is a bonus - particularly as the B and B is just a couple of hundred yards from the town centre, sea front and Swanage's own heritage railway station.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor with two bedrooms to choose - ours had a fourposter bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at Buddies for two nights, 30/5-1/6. A Thursday and Friday night. We arrived an hour and a half earlier than we stated, 5pm instead of 6:30pm, and yet Jason was all smiles and welcomed us in. The room was clean and well decorated. Plenty of tea and coffee to see us through our two night stay. We had continental breakfast on the Friday morning, followed by a full english on the Saturday morning, of which both was plenty to get us going. Swanage is a lovely old seaside town with some lovely walks and scenery. Buddies is a great value for money B&B. Thanks again Jason for a great welcome and a pleasant stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Lovely clean rooms well decorated and comfortable. Jason & Lesley were friendly and super helpful & cook a mean breakfast! Great location, only 10mins walk from the Beach, Mowlem Theatre & shops etc. Would highly recommend this B&B for great value & service in Swanage - thank you for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

very good stay very friendly can't fault our stay would recommend to any body who wants a quiet stay away from the town food excellent

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank davediver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A great down to earth honest B&B with a easy going and very helpful atmosphere (the people arn't bad either :-) )
would definitely stay again

From the Bunn's

Ask for directions to the best Fish n Chips in lower England !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at Buddies over the bank holiday weekend. The owners were away and a great guy called Mike Perry who runs a company called 'What a Relief', was managing everything. We had a great stay. Mike was friendly and very knowlegeable about the area and about Mexico (our next trip). The rooms are very clean and a good size. Breakfast time was until 9.30am so not too early like some b&b's. My only concern was that our bathroom was on the first floor landing and had a bi-folding pine door. It didn't make me feel secure and there were people passing by often to get to their rooms. Otherwise a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

stayed at buddies with my partner mon 29th aug - thurs 1st sept(3 nights).
our room was supposed to be a double, with two single beds pushed together - problem here was the join was not complete in the middle and the two seperate beds would move apart.
also the beds were VERY uncomfortable and noisey.
the owners were away whilst we stayed there and the place was run by a temporary manager.
on the second day our room was not serviced or touched in any way,no beds made,no tea/coffee/milk provided,no bins emptied,shower not cleaned.
there was no en-suite,but a so-called attached private bathroom,which had a bi-folding door with a very poor lock-bolt.
the bathroom door was on the landing so if the bathroom was in use,guests coming down the stairs could hear the person in it using the toilet etc
the bathroom was in fact just a shower room and cheaply furnished.
.there was no wardrobe as such in the room just a bare rail with a mixture of coat hangers.
the lampshade was hanging cock-eyed and only one bedside lamp was provided.
when the owners returned on 1st sept i put it too them about the room not having been serviced on the 30th aug(tues) - their response was they dont always service the rooms EVERY day as they like to leave their guests in peace and not disturb them.
this is the only b&b we have stayed in EVER,not to have serviced our room,and the owners should have offered us a partial refund,to make up for the fact the room was not cleaned and serviced,BUT they didn't.
all in all buddies is not the sort of b&b i would recommend to anyone else,and my partner and i will never go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.2 mi away
Amberlea Guest House
Amberlea Guest House
#24 of 48 in Swanage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Castleton
The Castleton
#14 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddies B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddies B&B

Property: Buddies B&B
Address: 75 Kings Road West, Swanage BH19 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddies B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to welcome you into our home and hope to provide a relaxed and friendly atmosphere during your stay. Buddies is conveniently situated a short level walk to the town, with all the amenities Swanage has to offer - it's wide sandy beach, coffee shops, selection of local pubs and restaurants, Purbeck steam railway, Jurassic coast line & Durlston Country Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buddies B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddies B&B Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing