We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So well looked after!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Hall Lodge
Ranked #17 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“So well looked after!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed for a couple of days R&R to go sea fishing. Judy looked after me so well... tea and cake on arrival, a packed lunch to take fishing that was more of a hamper, and the best B&B Breakfast ever! To top it off Judy froze the fish I had caught so could take them home on the train! I hope to return with my wife one day. Top notch customer service and value for money. Many thanks.. I am back to work feeling refreshed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    35
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
154
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Town Hall Lodge, I have been to Swanage quite a few times as a kid and remembered it very well. The parking is an issue, but if you do your home work or recall the town centre, you will be prepared and infact you can park 5 mins away for free.
The room, albeit slightly small (but served our needs) was immaculate and very clean. The bed was super comfy and I would love to find out what type mattress that was as I want one!
The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. There was a wide choice and cater for most, if not all tastes.
Clive and Judie were very friendly and helpful and we loved the kitchen!... It's good you are able to see what's going on in there. Thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Em12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were made to feel welcome and although there is no on-sight parking Judie was extremely helpful in advising us of the best places to park. The room was spacious and immaculately clean with a good range of toiletries. We were impressed with how large and comfortable our bed was! The breakfast area was a delight to sit in and the food was faultless, offering cereal, fruit etc as well as an expertly cooked full English made with quality products (fresh coffee was also delicious.) Clive and Judie are friendly and made us feel at home. Wonderful stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for one night and were delighted with the beautiful room and delicious breakfast. Every little thing was provided including some lovely toiletries. We couldn't decide what to have at breakfast there was so much choice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the panel room which was really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a very nice room in that lovely old building, with all you need (incl. self made cookies :-)).
The hosts were really nice and made a yummy breakfast, using only self-made or local products.
Its just a max. 5 min walk to the beach.
No complaints about the house, although for me >100 pounds per night (incl. breakfast) in Mid-season seems to be a little high.

Again, thanks for the lovely stay and your great recommendation Dartmouth !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Town Hall Lodge B&B for a long weekend. We hadn't been to Swanage before and Judie and Clive were great at offering places to go and visit. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. It was our birthdays over the weekend and Judie made us some cupcakes so when we returned we had a card and cakes in our room - very kind and thoughtful and made us both smile a lot.... Mmmmm, not sure if I should have said that as people may expect it now!! Judie and Clive were great hosts and the breakfast was magnificent. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nats01242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Town Hall Lodge for the Easter weekend. It was great - Julie and Clive were very welcoming, gave us great tips on where to go, and the breakfast was delicious.

The room was great, everything nice, quiet, and comfortable. The biscotti that Julie made and left in our room were really great too!

Overall - great stay and great hosts. We are very happy and will be coming back and recommending to anyone going to vacation in Swanage.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Lodge

Property: Town Hall Lodge
Address: Town Hall Lodge Town Hall Lane, Swanage BH19 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Town Hall Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Hall Lodge B&B in Swanage provides high-quality accommodation and good food in calm civilized surroundings. Situated centrally, our accommodation in Swanage is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach, restaurants, bars, bus and train station - yet hidden away down a little lane looking out over a courtyard we are at a distance from the bustle of the High Street. We are now an adult-only establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Town Hall Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Hall Lodge Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing