We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blues Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just come back from Swanage for the Blues weekend and stayed at this wonderful leisure park for the first time. We stayed in one of their yurts and it was wonderful! The beds were comfortable and the fire was already made up when we arrived. The shower block was clean and warm and the weather was so lovely that we had a BBQ in their under cover area. We will definitely be back next year or maybe before. We will also be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisrhona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three nights in the Mongolian yurts and had an awesome time! The kids absolutely loved it it was a real adventure. The yurts are so cosy with the log fire going, we didn't want to leave! The yurts are really comfortable the facilities on site are fantastic and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Be aware that the yurts are like tents - no toilets! A bit of a shock to my wife, but there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you Jason H for taking the time to review one of our Mongolian yurts and we are happy that you had a great time! We hope to see your lovely family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have enjoyed a fabulous weekend at herston park with a group of friends attending a wedding in the area. It was brilliant, we stayed in one of the mongolian yurts,having not even camped before i was a little dubious but when we arrived and were greeted by the lovely staff who helped us light the fire and showed us around the site i felt at ease. The shower block was nearby s o we all had fun getting ready for the wedding in front of the huge mirrors.Lots of space and plug sockets available. The yurt was so warm and cosy when we arrived back from the wedding reception. I would recommend staying in one of these if you're not ready for full on camping! We've already booked to come back for a girly weekend soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Still the best Sunday lunch andI service In swanage by far. The veg was beautifully cooked as was the meat! Only wish I'd had room for your delicious looking deserts. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you Hayley317. We look forward to your next visit to our Sunday carvery and appreciate your positive comments about your dining experience at Herston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed In the beautiful farm house on this occasion. The hot tub was huge, the kitchen was perfect for entertaining our large party of 8 and the lounges cosy with the added comfort of log fires. The master bedroom was sumptuous and felt as if we were in a different era and there was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably. Herston we will be back!!The buttons!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttonsbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay in our farmhouse with Tripadvisor.
Our farmhouse is ideal for larger families and groups and are pleased that you all slept comfortably. You are always welcome at Herston. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed only four nights at the campsite at Herston and we were very happy. It wasn't just the sunshine, which I did not expect, considering what last year was like.
The toilet block/showers remained spotless the whole time and never a problem with hot water. We mainly used the big ones by the main entrance,
There seemed to be a lot of staff going around cleanng all the time we were there.
The steam railway runs right past the site, hooting away. We used it twice. Once into town and then the next day we went off to Corfe Castle.
The site is in such a convenient location to get into town and then get out into the countryside.
There was some activity in the evenings until 10 or 11 PM, but it is a campsite after all. Didn't keep us awake though. Perhaps because we were all exhausted by the fresh air and all the things to do and see in Swanage.

The bar area was lovely, the food was good and we personally found the bar man/manager extremely friendly.

All the staff were very nice and helpful. We will definately return and certainly reccomend this place to all our friends.
The picture is of some people we made friends with. We hope to meet them again soon at Herston.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DABroadshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herston, Manager at Herston Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our holiday park. I am glad your stay with us was a pleasurable one and that the sun shone for you!(what a lovely Summer it was). We hope to meet you again soon too, you are always welcome at Herston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been coming to Herston for a number of years now and after about 6 years of camping we decided to take on a seasonal caravan pitch as we had made quite a few friends in this part of the world, we also have a good relationship with the management, the site is just far enough away from the town for a little peace and quiet, although in the peak seasons the site can get quite busy. Entertainment is of good quality and bar staff are excellent, always something going on to either get involved in or not as the case may be.
Being a keen jet skier the location is second to none and I feel my ski and my caravan is safe when I am not there.

Any problems at all, the management are very approachable and quickly sort out any issues.
Onsite food is very good quality and value and the Sunday carvery is excellent.
All in all a very good site that I would (and have) recommended to any one, either family or friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
2.5 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
290 reviews
1 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vernon Lodge
Vernon Lodge
#8 of 14 in Swanage
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#50 of 50 in Swanage
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herston Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herston Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Washpond LAne, Swanage BH19 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Swanage
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Herston Caravan & Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Hotel Swanage
Herston Caravan And Camp Site
Herston Caravan & Camp Site Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing