We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of memories”
Review of Swanage Railway

Swanage Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.76*
and up
Steam Train and Sea Cruise Adventure Including the Jurassic Coast from Poole
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Swanage Railway provides an ideal way to get to the beach without the need to park in Swanage. Simply leave your car at the Norden Park and Ride, which is conveniently located just off the A351 north of Corfe Castle, and start your holiday early!
Fordingbridge
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Time of memories”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great travelling on a steam train. Felt like going back in time in the carriages. Nothing we didn't like. Great to see so many volunteers keeping this attraction going.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hillcairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,465
    500
    69
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Took the Breezer open top bus {number 50] from Bournemouth to Swanage via a short ferry crossing at Sandbanks.
lovely scenery all the way although a bit windy on the top deck. Stepped back in time at the Steam Train station at Swanage. Took a 6 mile steam train ride to Corfe castle and the lovely village of Norden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank glorianted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We not only went on the train to the castle and back but they also provide dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings, we went on Friday night, a great time, but do book its worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 493AmandaB493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little pricey ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to use the train to take us from harmans cross to Swanage, we were camping near Norden and thought it would be a lovely treat for the children. The stream trains are amazing and it's a great way to see around the purbecks. Harmans cross is not maned so usually you need to purchase a ticket on the train, on this occasion the ticket machine wasnt working so upon arrival we headed for the ticket office.

For 2 adults and 3 children for a total of about a 8 minute journey it cost £24, unfortunately if I has known this before hand I would have driven into Swanage and paid for parking!!!

I appreciate that the majority of people that run the railway are volunteers and that the track and trains need to be maintained, but £24, is an extortionate amount of money!!!!! The prices are also not listed on your website or in any of the poster you have local sites!

Such a shame as you should be encouraging people to use local transport, although we loved it, we would not use again purely based on price!

Helpful?
1 Thank Olearyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful steam train”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When visiting Swanage we combined this with a trip to Corfe castle and model village parking at Norden £3 and using the steam train to go to Swanage. We paid £14 which included the cost of the train and a trip to the model village but not to the castle. The journey from Norden to Swanage passes through some pretty countryside and the view you get of Corfe castle is spectacular.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanage Railway also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Swanage Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing