We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B in Dorset!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 51 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely place to stay. Excellent room with good facilities and wonderful breakfasts. And thanks to Sue for accomodating our gluten free needs so admirably.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were greeted with a very warm welcome, room was superb, & spotlessly clean, bed was very comfy, shower brilliant. We had a lovely weekend here, & a very well cooked & filling breakfast got our day off to a good start. Highly recommend, & we will definately be going back. A big thank you to Sue & her staff for all thier hard work & hospitality.

Room Tip: room 3 was our room, very large & comfy bed, bathroom was just a step away from bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevieb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just spent a lovely weekend with friends in Swanage staying at this b&b. Our friends recommended this and we can understand why. We were greeted warmly by Sue as if we were old friends and shown to our beautifully presented bedroom overlooking the garden. There were lots of lovely little details such as a silent running fridge stocked with fresh milk and filtered water for your tea and coffee making facilities. There was also space for a bottle of wine for which she had thoughtfully provided a corkscrew and two wine glasses! There were little chocolates provided and nothing was too much trouble. The ensuite was well stocked with gels, shampoos, conditioners etc. The room was spotless and decorated in a contemporary style. Breakfast was served in the front room and was delicious. She provided various cereals, juices and a full cooked breakfast too. Nothing was too much trouble and we were able to return to our room at anytime without any time restrictions. The b&b was situated just a few minutes walk from town-perfect if you wanted a break from driving. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 is light and airy and overlooks the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a find! Searched the net for a short break, location immaterial... and found this. Never been to Swanage before but will certainly go again - just to stay here! So, in short: Towels - large and fluffy. Shower - hot and tingly. Bed - comfy! Room - clean, v v v clean. Service - perfect. Breakfast - run out of adjectives! The amount of energy required to run a guesthouse to this standard is just enormous. Well done Sue and the team.

Room Tip: Maybe v tall people avoid room 5? It's the one at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapeluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was our second stay at this guest house and it was just as good as last summer. The property is kept to such a high standard that you would believe it had just opened and you were the first ones to stay there.

Sue greets you as if you have been friends for years and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were as good as ever and keeps you filled up for most of the day!

It is very central to everything in Swanage and you can come and go as you please, which is really nice.

We will definitely be back again next year and this year we took our family with us and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay as much as we did.

There are so many extras that you would think were only available in a four star hotel and this guest house is far superior to a lot of those that we have stayed in over the years.

Well done Sue - your guest house is an absolute credit to you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here, for the first time so far, to attend the Swanage Jazz Festival. Sue was so welcoming and helpful, and her breakfasts were exceptionally good, better than most of the hotels I've stayed in. Being a small establishment, with relatively few guests even when full, everyone got to know each other very quickly. Every aspect of the room was outstanding - decor, facilities (even a fridge),and so creatively done. I intend to return to Swanage, a town with many happy memories, and perhaps add a few more - staying of course at the Great Escape.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and, particularly if I come with my partner, I would ask for one of the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We're not used to B&Bs but I suspect we're spoilt - this was a superb B&B. Decor and ambience is immaculate and the room excellent. A very comfortable bed and quality shower/ ensuite. Breakfasts are excellent - we didn't need lunch four days running! Sue is a wonderful hostess - she is smashing and it means the world to her that you enjoy your stay. We did!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
2.8 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#2 of 51 in Swanage
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swanage Haven Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#8 of 51 in Swanage
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 51 in Swanage
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing