We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a B&B to revisit Sue is friendly very welcoming and helpful, the room was immaculate with everything you could want including real milk in a quiet fridge. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice- couldn't be better

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for A Great Escape Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a brilliant few days at The Great Escape in Swanage, fortunately for us coinciding with some amazingly sunny late September weather. Sue is an absolute diamond, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The room was spotless with lots of thoughtful touches (silent fridge with real fresh milk for our tea, chocolates..) and the breakfast was really excellent. By far the finest B&B we've ever stayed in, hands down.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great Room
Great Facilities
Great Food
Great Location
Great Host !!!!

Truly "A GREAT ESCAPE"

It is difficult to add to other reviewers comments - they are all so true

As a first time solo traveller it was great to be greeted so warmly and energetically by Sue , having regularly stopped in large corporate hotels both for business and pleasure it was refreshing to be treated as an individual rather than just a number .

Everything is so tastefully done , kept spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble

Number One Tip - do not plan to have any lunches during your stay - the Breakfasts are superb and keep you going all day !!

Sue is quite rightly very proud of what she has achieved so far - long may it continue

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

From the moment Sue opens the door to her beautiful home you have the feeling of being welcomed back by an old friend, Nothing is to much trouble and executed with sunny enthusiasm. We stayed in the blue room (2) beautifully decorated with a seaside theme that was immediately relaxing ,as we settled in we quickly relized this wasnt your ordinary seaside b&b ,everything has been thought out from experience. From the silent running fridge to the corkscrew in the top draw and the conditioner the hairdresser forgot to pack !! the covenience of no curfew but repect for your fellow guests works very well as does the doorbell in the hall if you should happen to need anything at all (YOU WONT). Our breakfasts were delicious, a lovely fruit salad ,several cereal choices and lots of spreads/jams that you helped yourself to followed by a yummy yummy full dorset breakfast with fresh homemade bread a real treat. My husband loved the fresh coffee to ,this will be the first of many visits to Sues, already planning our next time. The blood sweat and tears were worth it sue you are an inspiration and have created a truly great escape thank you ,see you very soon x x

Room Tip: any room is a good room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funtlmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a brilliant few days we have spent at the great escape, the best B & B we have ever stayed in, lovely warm welcome from Sue, the decoration throughout the property was first class, ,spotlessly clean, so many extras in the room , the food was fantastic, never had such a large Full English Breakfast in my life ,set me up for the day !! thanks to Sue, and staff for making it a great stay,we will be booking up for long weekend soon

Room Tip: would recommend any !!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulgoodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Thank you Sue for a special welcoming. Our room, number 2 was lovely, spotlessly clean and very quiet at night. Filtered water in a very quiet fridge was provided and different teas / coffee to choose from. Breakfast was always excellent, nothing was too much trouble.
By the time we had to leave (4 nights stay) I felt I had known Sue for a long time.
I would certainly recommend A Great Escape to others. Once again thank you for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Look at the options on - line
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank REBMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at ' A Great Escape ' in Swanage. The owner Sue Searle is an amazing hostess, she welcomes her guests with open arms and nothing is too much trouble. We travelled with friends and all of the rooms in the house were oustanding. The attention to detail in every room was personal and touching. We stayed for two nights and Sue provides a delicious breakfast , a full english with fresh fruit and juices the home made bread makes amazing toast and every type of cereal you could wish for. As soon as we vacated the rooms for our day out, they were cleaned and beds were made, anything that we had used in the room was replenished. Sue is a wonderful lady and we highly recommend that you go and stay at ' A Great Escape ' you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 50 in Swanage
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 50 in Swanage
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £81 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing