We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have been staying at this B & B since it opened and return every year, sometimes more than once. The rooms are immaculate and the little touches made by Sue are what make this B & B, in my opinion, head and shoulders above others I have stayed in. My two little ones love staying here and Sue makes us so comfortable, we especially look forward to the breakfast. We have already booked our next stay and highly recommend this B & B and Sue to our friends and family!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from our first visit to 'A Great Escape'. Stayed for two nights and could not fault anything during our visit. Lovely bedrooms, fantastic breakfasts and a wonderful owner who treated us like family. Great value for money and when we go back to Swanage we will not look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First time we've reviewed a holiday on here but we just had to add our praise for A Great Escape. Sue clearly loves looking after her guests and enjoys all the work that goes into making their stay a success. This shines through not just in the immaculate condition of the room and the quality of the breakfasts, but also in her general approach to making sure we felt completely at home - which for a short while over half term we were very happy not to be. We had a wonderful stay in Swanage and would thoroughly recommend the town and its location, and not least A Great Escape.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I can't remember the last time I slept so well. My 2 little ones also managed to sleep soundly. Cosy, immaculate bedding, an incredibly warm welcome and wonderful hospitality...lot's of attention paid to small details to make one's stay special. This guest house is impeccably clean, well decorated and good value for money.
Would definitely return. The owner is a delight too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fara321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Third visit to 'A Great Escape', and once again we were sorry to leave this wonderful, immaculate B&B. Sue's enthusiasm and warm welcome is second to none. Breakfast is still amazing, and there are more extras in the room, than you would find in a 5 star hotel! If you are considering a trip to Swanage, then stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetterThanWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a B&B to revisit Sue is friendly very welcoming and helpful, the room was immaculate with everything you could want including real milk in a quiet fridge. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice- couldn't be better

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a brilliant few days at The Great Escape in Swanage, fortunately for us coinciding with some amazingly sunny late September weather. Sue is an absolute diamond, for whom nothing is too much trouble. The room was spotless with lots of thoughtful touches (silent fridge with real fresh milk for our tea, chocolates..) and the breakfast was really excellent. By far the finest B&B we've ever stayed in, hands down.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £84 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing