We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B & B's we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

After staying at A Great Escape for three nights we didn't want to move on to our next location. Sue gave us such a warm welcome & looked after us so well. Nothing would have been too much trouble. Our room (the black & white room) was immaculate, with lots of little extras that made a real difference. Breakfast was extremely good, especially the fresh fruit salad every morning. I tried everything on the menu. We will definately stay there again and recommend it to our friends. Thanks Sue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful place to stay! Sue was so friendly and welcoming. Our room was really tastefully decorated (we had the black and white room), and there was so much attention to detail. We even had a silent fridge in our room where there was milk and chocolates, and were also given wine glasses. The bathroom was fitted to an extremely high quality, with excellent quality water pressure in the shower. Cooked breakfasts were excellent, with lots of choice, and there were even waffles on the menu! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very pleasant and comfortable stay. In the morning, due to a power outage in the street, it was not possible to try the cooked breakfast. However, the hostes was so kind to propose many alternative options (including refund), and the breakfast was anyway very nice. The room and bathroom very nice. Very nice hostess.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes_AroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Have just got home after a wonderful couple of nights. We had the triple room which was very comfortable and roomy with its own adjacent bathroom with a fantastic shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was fantastic - a huge choice - I went for the delicious fresh fruit salad, beautifully cooked bacon and eggs etc and fresh coffee. I can't recommend this B&B enough - Sue is as welcoming a host as you could wish for and we were sad to leave. We will recommend to all our friends and definitely return.
Zoe

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiffysmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Sue has been great host. Breakfast had many varieties and accommodation flawless! Very worm filing. If I have to recommended this B&B for another customers? Oh yes! 100% yes… Many thanks from Yari and Veronika.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaroslav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If there are rooms available at Sue's B&B you don't need to look any further.
At arrival we were met by Sue who welcomed us as old friends/family. She was very helpful with tips for places to visit and where to eat. She has plenty of leaflets for her guests too.
The rooms are even nicer than in the photos. And all the little touches make it feel like you are at home. A jug of filtered water, a flask of milk in the fridge, wide choice of teas and instant coffees and some Easter eggs too were really handy do have in the room. The bed in our ground floor room was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast cooked by Sue and her very friendly helpers was very generous and delicious. You need to fill out a little form for Sue the evening before to let her know what would you like for breakfast.
We were 2 couples and all of us were very happy with the accommodation and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElzaAndMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night on April 11th 2012. First impressions were good, lovely flowers and baskets at the door and well maintained exterior. We were then greeted by first name by Sue, who welcomed us like we were family ! The hall and stairs were bright, airy and well groomed. She showed us up to our room which again was sunny and immaculate. Lovely white linen, and not a speck of dust anywhere ! There was a silent fridge with a flask of milk and jug of water, plus little drawers of tea and coffee sachets. There was even a little dish of chocolates ! The en-suite was finished to a very high standard- The shower tray was sparkling ! There were many little special touches which were lovely, like flannels wrapped in a little ribbon...through to little shower gels and even shoe shine pads :)
Good breakfast choices that we chose the evening before.......Couldn't have eaten all that was on offer ! So we had a full English, all cooked to perfection.
All in all we would certainly go back and would definitely recommend without any hesitation ! Well done Sue :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelPryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £84 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing