We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
456
15
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
456
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilent fridgefresh milkb bfiltered waterlittle touchesreal milknothing is too much troublewine glasseswarm welcomeroom was spotlesseach eveningfull englishcooked breakfastan excellent hostjust returned from a night staythought of everythinga wonderful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were delighted with our stay at A Great Escape Band B. Sue made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Our room was bright, light and airy. The sun streamed into the room through the French doors which opened onto a little balcony overlooking the garden all afternoon and evening. We especially enjoyed Sue's surprise in our drawer every evening! Breakfasts were fab with loads of choice and the full English Breakfast came with black pudding, too! We were close to the beach and the centre of Swanage which was very convenient. A great place to escape to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Simon,

Thanks so much for your fab review and so glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 1 with a private balcony overlooking the garden. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed three nights and were very well looked after. We received a warm welcome and the atmosphere was very friendly. The room was immaculate and well equipped, including a fridge and safe. The breakfast choice was good and always well done. The building is decorated to a high standard and our room was very comfortable with an on-suite fitted with a good shower and high spec fittings.
I’ve stayed in several b&b’s in swanage, but never seen so much attention to detail and enthusiasm to make sure you go away pleased.
Thanks Sue for a pleasant stay.
Geoff & Marilyn

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hi Geoff & Marilyn,

Your review was wonderful - thank you very much for your lovely words. We are very mindful of providing the best possible welcome and comfort for our guests. Hope to see you again in Swanage one day, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Swanage on the 21st August to have a short break and to have a Babymoon!
Sue made us feel extremely welcome and at home.
The room was delightful and had everything required.
The B&B was conveniently located within walking distance of the town centre. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options for every taste. We enjoyed the secret treats each day which was an extra bonus!
A hidden gem. Thanks for making our stay such a pleasure. We hope to visit again with our new addition (mini time lady!) X

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pettitt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hello you two, thanks so much for a great review and so pleased that you chose A Great Escape for one of your last trips before the BIG event - oodles of good luck and joy are wished upon you.

A Great Escape is always open to you... and your new addition when it arrives, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Sue made my wife and I very welcome and room was spotless and recently refurbished. Indeed I think she updates all rooms quite often. The breakfasts were lovely for the 3 days we stayed and the house is walking distance to the lovely beach (20 minutes). We ate at The Black Swan 200 metres away which was reasoanbly priced and great food. Steam train ,Harrys Rocks walk and beaches were great

Room Tip: 2 rooms are in the converted attic
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hello, thank you for your kind review and so glad you had a good time in Swanage. Thanks so much also for the feedback on the distance to the beach. We need to give better directions as the distance is 10 minutes on foot (see Google Maps).

Apologies: the rooms on the second floor are not converted attic rooms as we have an attic above them. These rooms have eaves as do most Victorian town houses and are very popular with couples in particular who enjoy being at the top of the house.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thank you Sue for looking after my Dad & his partner last week they had a lovely time at your fantastic B&B. The breakfast was amazing and the rooms spotlessly clean we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Swanage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your super review. It was a pleasure looking after your Dad. I'm so glad he had a good time, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews