We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks again for a wonderful break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Great Escape Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thanks again for a wonderful break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and once again we had a wonderful time. Sue makes you feel great. Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are well equipped.
We love hearing the steam trains which are just a few hundred yards from the house.
Will be back again as soon as possible.



















  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello Happy Badger, thank you so much for your review. I love your returning visits: lots of laughs and smiles. Anytime... you know you are always welcome in Swanage and at A Great Escape, xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
277
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Thanks Sue for a lovely warm welcome to your B and B. The room, service and all amenities were fab. We would definitely book again, recommend you to friends and feel your ratings are well deserved.

Best wishes and thanks again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AandA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thanks you A and A for your super review. It was pleasure having you both to stay and I'm so glad you had a good time. You know where we are and you will always be welcome at A Great Escape, xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Of all the guest houses I have stayed in this is by far the best, for hospitality, food and accommodation. Every angle covered with Sues exceptional little touches. Well situated for location will definatley be returning and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Tony and Wendy,

Thanks oodles for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and so hope you will come to Swanage again some time, x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were delighted with our stay at A Great Escape Band B. Sue made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Our room was bright, light and airy. The sun streamed into the room through the French doors which opened onto a little balcony overlooking the garden all afternoon and evening. We especially enjoyed Sue's surprise in our drawer every evening! Breakfasts were fab with loads of choice and the full English Breakfast came with black pudding, too! We were close to the beach and the centre of Swanage which was very convenient. A great place to escape to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Simon,

Thanks so much for your fab review and so glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 1 with a private balcony overlooking the garden. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed three nights and were very well looked after. We received a warm welcome and the atmosphere was very friendly. The room was immaculate and well equipped, including a fridge and safe. The breakfast choice was good and always well done. The building is decorated to a high standard and our room was very comfortable with an on-suite fitted with a good shower and high spec fittings.
I’ve stayed in several b&b’s in swanage, but never seen so much attention to detail and enthusiasm to make sure you go away pleased.
Thanks Sue for a pleasant stay.
Geoff & Marilyn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi Geoff & Marilyn,

Your review was wonderful - thank you very much for your lovely words. We are very mindful of providing the best possible welcome and comfort for our guests. Hope to see you again in Swanage one day, x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Swanage on the 21st August to have a short break and to have a Babymoon!
Sue made us feel extremely welcome and at home.
The room was delightful and had everything required.
The B&B was conveniently located within walking distance of the town centre. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options for every taste. We enjoyed the secret treats each day which was an extra bonus!
A hidden gem. Thanks for making our stay such a pleasure. We hope to visit again with our new addition (mini time lady!) X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettitt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hello you two, thanks so much for a great review and so pleased that you chose A Great Escape for one of your last trips before the BIG event - oodles of good luck and joy are wished upon you.

A Great Escape is always open to you... and your new addition when it arrives, x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Sue made my wife and I very welcome and room was spotless and recently refurbished. Indeed I think she updates all rooms quite often. The breakfasts were lovely for the 3 days we stayed and the house is walking distance to the lovely beach (20 minutes). We ate at The Black Swan 200 metres away which was reasoanbly priced and great food. Steam train ,Harrys Rocks walk and beaches were great

Room Tip: 2 rooms are in the converted attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review and so glad you had a good time in Swanage. Thanks so much also for the feedback on the distance to the beach. We need to give better directions as the distance is 10 minutes on foot (see Google Maps).

Apologies: the rooms on the second floor are not converted attic rooms as we have an attic above them. These rooms have eaves as do most Victorian town houses and are very popular with couples in particular who enjoy being at the top of the house.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Property: A Great Escape Guest House
Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing