We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
456
15
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
456
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilent fridgefresh milkb bfiltered waterlittle touchesreal milknothing is too much troublewine glasseswarm welcomeroom was spotlesseach eveningfull englishcooked breakfastan excellent hostjust returned from a night staythought of everythinga wonderful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at this place with several good friends for the swanage folk weekend. Sue offers a wonderfully warm friendly personal service. My room was lovely, i wish i could have stayed longer. I really hope to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Hi Jim, thanks so much for your lovely review. The Folk Festival was great, and I so hope you can come and stay again next year, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We are just back from our nights stay , A warm welcome awaited us on arrival from the lovely Sue. our room was just as welcoming with the huge comfy bed to the mini fridge stocked with fresh milk filtered water & hot chocolate mix, Sue you have thought of everything even a re-cycling bag the attention to detail amazed me for a B&B should be a 5* Hotel , i have stayed in many 5* hotels In the country but none so good as The Great Escape Swanage. The lovely choice of Breakfast from fresh fruit , cereal & or a full English. A sure bet we will be back. To this beautiful spotlessly clean welcoming 5* B&b.
Ann & Nick Aldham..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hi Ann and Nick,

Thank you so much for your super review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and brief visit to Swanage. As I said when you departed, you are welcome at A Great Escape any time, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I can't praise this place enough. We have been staying at "A Great Escape" every year for the Swanage Folk Weekend and we look forward to seeing Sue as much as the festival itself.
The rooms are immaculate and stylish, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the breakfasts are surperb! The complete package!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendrixHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Yo! Your folk group, Customs & Exiles is magnificent!! Thanks a mill for your fab review. I look forward to the groups visit for the Swanage Folk Festival each year when the town is full of colour, dancing and wonderful music. Can't wait till next year, xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Sue and her staff go out of their way to make their guests feel completely at home. Been staying there for four folk festivals now and would not go anywhere else. It is the attention to detail that makes everyone that stays there feel so special. See you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamulargeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi Pam and Geoff,

Thanks oodles for your super review. We look forward to the annual Folk Festival because it brings great music, dancing, colour and delightful guests such as yourselves to Swanage. We love to make our visitors feel special - it all goes towards a great holiday experience and lovely memories to take home. Until next year... xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Sue's attention to detail is second to none. The fresh milk in the fridge, and chilled water; the salt and pepper mills; the wonderful breakfasts, cooked so well, and with the best possible produce and of course not forgetting the spotless, bright rooms. Sue was also very helpful in assisting us in where to eat and the best places to go. She enhanced our trip to Swanage immensely and I defy anyone to stay here and not enjoy themselves. We will definitely be back , and have no hesitation in recommending 'A Great Escape' to all our families and friends.

Room Tip: We had room 1, with the balcony and were able to watch the sun set.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hello Carol and Jack!

Thanks very much for your super review. I am honoured to have had such distinguished guests to stay and so glad you had an easy rider of a time in Swanage and A Great Escape. We try our best to look after our guests down to the last detail, and it was a long goodbye when you had to go home at the end of your stay. Please visit again sometime - it was a pleasure looking after you, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews