We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely as ever”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The worst thing about this visit to Sue's little hideaway was that it was only one night long. As an enroute stopover on a cycling tour it was perfect - a cheery greeting and immaculate room. Somewhere safe to park the bikes too. It's the little extras I notice - especially as we had been on a Premier Inn the night before. Ample tea and coffee - proper milk in the fridge. A wonderful breakfast to help us up the hills - almost making lunch superfluous.
Have only been once before but it was as lovely as ever - I am a fan of Great Escape - it is above of the ordinary. (And close to the Black Swan - with good beer and great food)

Room Tip: The bigger first floor double room at the front is the best of the the (two) rooms I have been in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello, thank you for your super review. It's always a pleasure having you to stay and hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
295
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Great Escape and couldn't fault it. Sue, the owner, gave us a wonderful welcome and showed us to our room which was beautiful. We had a huge double bed (plus a single) and the room was very well equipped with fridge (fresh milk and filtered water), plenty of tea and coffee, hair dryer, iPod Dock, TV etc. The room and en-suite were decorated to a high standard with quality fixtures and fittings.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold options. The full Dorset breakfast was huge and we couldn't eat again until evening. Smoked Salmon and scrambled eggs the next day was great.

Others have commented on the treats box that greets you on your return and we enjoyed this too. Our stay included Easter Sunday and the two mini Easter eggs were a nice surprise. So she we got to our room to find another full size Easter egg waiting for us we felt we had really been treated.

The guest house is a short walk from the town centre in a quiet side street which means it is nice and quiet and easy to park.

I can thoroughly recommend The Great Escape to anyone and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Rob, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a super detailed review. We're pleased as punch that you enjoyed all that A Great Escape has to offer. The fact that you would recommend us is the icing on the cake; and we look forward to having you to stay again sometime. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We picked the guest house because of the great reviews but they didn't do it justice.It was spotless w/ modern decor. Short walk frm town. Breakfast was lovely & huge! Sue has put so much love into the guest house and all the extra lovely details, and is a fab hostess who will bend over backwards for you! Will def be staying again soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank misk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Kym, thanks so much for your fab review. We are thrilled when guests say they would recommend us. I'm so glad you had a good time. See you again I hope!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just got back from a fantastic wknd in swanage our stay at this bed and breakfast was outstanding sue and her staff couldn't do enough for us and as for breakfast it was amazing so anyone heading down that way should book in with sue for a great time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello Keith and Sue, thanks very much for your fab review. It was great having you to stay and hope to see you again in the future, x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you have found a better B&B in Swanage, we would be amazed. Sue welcomed us warmly, checked if we knew the area (yes), or did we need maps (no), told us the breakfast arrangements, and then took us immediately to our delightful room. We literally could not fault the en suite room, with its fridge, hair drier, luxurious bed, free toiletries, and clean modern decor. The breakfast menu was extensive. My husband simply had the gargantuan 'full Dorset' every morning - quality ingredients. I tried the home made waffles with maple syrup, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The fresh fruit salad was delicious, and there was a range of yogurts, juices and jams, as well as a constant supply of tea and coffee, and home made bread or toast. The whole house is squeaky clean and modern. Everything about this place is quality, and to get a three nights for two deal was fantastic value. Thank you Sue!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Fran, thank you for your super review. It was great having you both to stay and I'm so pleased you had a good time. Please remember that you will always be welcome at A Great Escape!! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good stay with Sue, who is an excellent host. Bedrooms immaculately furnished. Pleasant breakfast room with a good choice. Well situated for walking to all amenities, including local Black Swan pub which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello, it was great having you both to stay and thank you for your review. We hope to look after you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from another stay at 'A Great Escape' in Swanage for the 'blues weekend, and it's as good as ever. Sue, the owner is so welcoming and the breakfasts are to die for. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The location is ideal for walking to the town, the beach,the steam train or the Purbeck hills.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello, thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you had a good time. We love having you both to stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 49 in Swanage
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Property: A Great Escape Guest House
Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing