We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England
2 reviews
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely 3 days in swanage as a surpise get away. Would recommend a great escape guest house to anyone looking to get away and relax. The room was lovely and we loved the little touches such as the huge boat keyring and Colin the crab. Having spent the evening in amusements on the grabing machines winning cuddley toys we opened our draw to find the perfect gift for us :)
We had a wonderful time in swanage and Sue took the time to make sure our stay was just as fun and a perfect escape from life.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 87Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello you two, thanks so much for your lovely review. It was real pleasure having you both to stay and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed Swanage and our guest house. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
285
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say thank you, we had an amazing stay and I was so shocked when we arrived how organised, clean, modern the guest house was, also breakfast was amazing !!! ( coming from someone very picky with high standards ) we will most definitely be back !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damjo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your super review. It was great having you to stay and I'm so glad you had a good time. Another time I hope!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived on the door step wet and soggy having had a disaster with our tent and nowhere to stay...we were welcomed with open arms by Sue and shown to a beautiful clean room with all the little extras you don't normally expect! Our stay here was excellent, Sue made the most amazing breakfast in the morning and was very helpful and attentive. All though not planned this time around we will definitely be returning in the future...thank you Sue

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaUraJohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello, thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both to stay. We only wish it could have been longer, but hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of the best welcomes at a guest house ever! Sue is a wonderful host and makes you feel one of the family! The room was excellent, spotless and well equipped. The breakfast was fantastic with a great choice of options and the evening 'treat' in the drawer (you have to stay to know what we mean!) was a lovely detail! We look forward to our next weekend stay in May next year! Thankyou again I & H.......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello, thank you for the super review and I'm thrilled that you felt at home with us. We loved having you both to stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay, but made to feel exceptionally welcome by Sue and wished we were staying longer! The nighttime treat and superb cooked breakfast were particular highlights.

Would recommend to anyone visiting Swanage as I can't believe there is anywhere else this good!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamLilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello, what a fab review, thank you so much. I'm so glad you had a good time and you know where we are - you will always be welcome at A Great Escape!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for just the one night in April while we were setting up our caravan in Swanage and we found the room to be well equipped recently refurbished and comfortable, Sue was very welcoming and the breakfast was probably the best we've ever had in a guest house. Wouldn't it be great if all such places could be as good as this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello, what a super review - thanks very much for taking the time. Hope all goes well with the caravan and that you enjoy your time in Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Sue gave us a very warm welcome and we were made to feel like old friends. We stayed in room one which was immaculately decorated and has a balcony. There were tea and coffee facilities. There was fresh milk and filtered water kept in a fridge in the room (silent running fridge). The bed was very comfortable too.

When we came back in the evening, a small chest of drawers in the hallway with a dedicated drawer for each room, had treats left in it by our host. What a lovely touch which made us feel special.

Breakfast was perfect; Lovely fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, home made bread, and not forgetting the full English. I also tried the freshly made waffles, bacon and maple syrup different but in a good way....

This bed and breakfast is quite simply faultless. We would love to stay here again.

Thank you Sue. x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your lovely detailed review. I'm so glad you had a great time in Swanage - it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay. Here's to the next time I hope!! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
911 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Property: A Great Escape Guest House
Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing