We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Great Escape Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Great Escape Guest House
Ranked #6 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed with Sue for two nights on a short break to Swanage, returning today. Sue kept in constant contact by e-mail and I felt I knew her before we even met. I knew she would be lovely and she was; nothing was too much trouble. Our room (no 3) was really nice and had everything we could ask for. The bathroom was good too - nice size and fully equipped. Everything was spotless and welcoming. Each evening we had a little surprise in our relevant drawer in reception. Lots of nice touches. The breakfast was yummy. We pre-ordered our choice of hot breakfast - full Dorset breakfast (a feast!) or any mix, or omelettes or waffles. Plus the cereals, fruit, yoghurt and endless toast. Can't rate it highly enough. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room 3 with a huge double bed and nice en suite with bath/shower. There was a single bed too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your lovely review and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at A Great Escape. You are welcome any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
278
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 day break and loved it. The B&B is well located for the town centre. Sue is very welcoming and friendly. Room was lovely and there was a huge choice for breakfast! We will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your review of A Great Escape - much appreciated, and we hope to see you again in Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sue pampered us from the time we arrived until we departed! The room was well-appointed (No. 5) with filtered water and fresh milk in a convenient fridge. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happylady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello, thanks very much for your lovely review of A Great Escape and it was a pleasure to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed two nights here as a base to explore the Jurassic Coast. We usually stay in hotels on our breaks but after Trip Advisor research decided A Great Escape with Sue sounded preferable. Not disappointed. Sue and her staff are most welcoming and efficient. The standard of cleanliness is very high which is extremely important to us. Comfortable beds and pillows, linen and towels fresh and plentiful. Nice bright bathroom with great shower. The quality of produce and cooking at breakfast is superb. Home-made bread a treat. Both breakfast assistants super. Sue has every detail on all fronts covered. Super B&B stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your super review and thank you also for including my assistants - they are the backbone of our business. I'm so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay.. Another time I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Greeting on arrival : Sue is probably the most genial and service oriented owner ever: 10/10
Room and en-suite: spacious clean and modern: 10/10
Sleep: the linen the pillows the bed made for a blissfully deep zzzzz: 10/10
Breakfast: I have never been asked to choose my very own personalised breakfast from a menu, for it to be sourced with local fresh and quality food and cooked to perfection then served with my name on it with a friendly smile: 11/10
Mine host: Sue and her excellent team:10/10
Location: easy parking, close to town and beaches, v near excellent gastroesque pub The Black Swan for great evening fare:10/10


Perfect score exceeded.Thank you Sue.

Room Tip: All room are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello, thank you for your fabulous and detailed review. We strive to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible and we're thrilled that you had a good time. Hope you can come back sometime - a room awaits you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night at A Great Escape and although we weren't keen on Swanage, we loved this guest house. Sue was a wonderful host and the place was immaculate, great for two people with OCD!! The extra little touches and furnishings also make all the difference. We had no issues parking and the breakfast was delicious...I can highly recommend the smoked salmon and eggs. Thank you Sue for such a pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello, thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely 3 days in swanage as a surpise get away. Would recommend a great escape guest house to anyone looking to get away and relax. The room was lovely and we loved the little touches such as the huge boat keyring and Colin the crab. Having spent the evening in amusements on the grabing machines winning cuddley toys we opened our draw to find the perfect gift for us :)
We had a wonderful time in swanage and Sue took the time to make sure our stay was just as fun and a perfect escape from life.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 87Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Great_Escape, Owner at A Great Escape Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello you two, thanks so much for your lovely review. It was real pleasure having you both to stay and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed Swanage and our guest house. You will always be welcome at A Great Escape!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Great Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Great Escape Guest House

Property: A Great Escape Guest House
Address: 6 Argyle Road, Swanage BH19 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Great Escape Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great Escape Guest House in Swanage, Dorset is a 19th century townhouse offering relaxing accommodation in a central location. We are conveniently placed for all of the sights of Swanage. It's only a 10 minute walk from the house to the award winning Blue Flag beach, and the famous Swanage Steam Railway is 5 minutes away. A Great Escape offers a high level of accommodation with en-suite facilities, flat screen televisions with FreeView, silent fridges, safes, hair driers, and refreshment-making facilities. We also include a varied breakfast menu including a full English breakfast using locally sourced produce, or alternatively omelettes, waffles or smoked salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your A Great Escape Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Great Escape Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing